Scallops One - Two - Three Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Thanks for sharing this recipe it was my inspiration for dinner. First, I added seasoning (lemon pepper, dill, garlic, sea salt) to the scallops before wrapping them in turkey bacon. Second, I added a couple of teaspoons of fake butter with 1 chopped garlic clove to the oven tray and cooked them for 10 minutes. Then, I added the lemon juice, 1 small tomato (dice in small bites, including the juice) and 1/2 very ripe bell better into the tray and put it back in the over for 10 more minutes. Last, I served everything over pain whole wheat pasta (one tablespoon of lemon flavored extra virgin olive oil to the cooked pasta, so it wouldn't stick). Voila, simple, delicious healthy dinner in 30 minutes! *I wanted to use ingredients I had in the refrigerator before they spoiled so, but any left over veggies would work as long as they are ripe so it cooks fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Well, they were enjoyable enough, but only because I LOVE scallops so much. The bacon and scallops do not cook at the same rate, so I ended up peeling off most of the bacon and leaving it on my plate because who wants to eat bacon fat that isn't crispy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
We used large, fresh bay scallops and skewered them for grilling. We used precooked bacon as scallops cook quickly and bacon (as we like it) needs to cook thoroughly till crispy. Also, the bacon grease can cause grill flare ups and we didn't want that to char the scallops. We skipped the lemon juice thinking that it may be odd with the bacon. This was delicious and we look forward to making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I made 6 really big scallops. I fried the bacon a bit first since I like my bacon crispy. However, I did do something a little different. I only made one of the scallops with lemon juice. I made two with nothing other than the bacon and on the other 3 I used different spices on each one. I have to say, I liked the plain bacon wrapped ones the best. You taste the scallop more rather than spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tiverton, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I used 9 collosal scallops in this recipe, and wrapped them in the microwaveable bacon, as it is already partially cooked. I drizzled lemon juice on them about 1/2 before baking. They were a huge hit with my husband and inlaws. I cooked them at 350 for about 20 minutes, then raised the oven temperature to about 400 for another 5 minutes. They came out tender and juicy, and everyone loved them. Thank you for a simple and delicious recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie
Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Even though I partially precooked bacon, it still stayed soggy. Unimpressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Scallops are absolutely divine and a perfectly cooked scallop requires no seasoning. Bacon wrapped scallops--Not as easy as it sounds. No two sea scallops are alike and they come in all different sizes. If overcooked they are rubbery and undercooked, well…… Then there is the bacon. It takes the longest to cook. To get the two to come together at precisely the right time is a bit of a challenge. Therefore, you can’t always rely on recipe cook times. I find it best to partially cook the strip of bacon in a skillet until 50% cooked. Don’t cut the strips, because they shrink and you want to make sure it’s long enough to go around the scallop. After you wrap the scallops, bake in the oven with a watchful eye and remove each scallop as it gets done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I think that the time of cooking is the dilemma. the best possible solution is to cook the bacon in the microwave for 20 sec. per strip let cool then wrap. That possible solution will be in my next attempt at this dish. It's a great and fast side to a broiled or baked fish dinner. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Even precooking the bacon didn't help this as that wasn't really this recipe's worst issue in the first place. Usually simple, basic ingredients can produce something very tasty - but not this time. And usually bacon can make anything taste good or better. Not this time. This needed seasoning. Anything would have been better than this just as is. Further, there's something "off" about lemon juice with bacon. This went nowhere on our SuperBowl Smorgasbord Buffet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Very simple and the Scallops turned out perfect. Went great with the risotto I made and will definitely make this again. I'd love to try it on the grill this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Poon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broiled Scallops

Try these incredibly easy broiled scallops in a butter and lemon sauce.

Bay Scallops with Garlic Parsley Butter Sauce

See how to make a super-easy seafood appetizer.

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States