Scallops Mascarpone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I found this recipe at the last minute and couldn't find the Mascarpone cheese. I used 8 oz. of cream cheese instead and it was absolutely delicious!! Very thick and rich!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augsburg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Burlington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Night Owl
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Fantastic dish. . . The sauce is rich and has a perfectly sweet and subtle taste that compliments this seafood pasta dish. I added diced onion to the vegetables and upped the amount of asparagus and mushrooms, which is recommended. And if possible, add some shredded salmon on top of the pasta before placing the scallops and sauce on top as is seen in my photo for this recipe. It was a delicious idea that worked magnificently. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Night Owl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duvall, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
YOM YOM! I made lots of changes to this recipe out of practicality/$$. I halved it because I was trying to use up 4 oz of mascarpone. I subbed bay scallops in for regular (cheaper and better IMO). I subbed broccoli for asparagus (cheaper and also delicious). I subbed rotini noodles for shells because I had those on hand. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fujiko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandan, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Sherwood, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
WOW WOW WOW! This was amazing! My store was out of mascarpone cheese so I used 8oz cream cheese, 1/4 heavy cream, and 3tbsp sour cream... it makes more sauce and I highly suggest it! I used 2 garlic cloves instead of one and used Farfalle pasta instead. Amazing and delicious! Top with some parmesan cheese and you are good to go! SUCH a tasty meal! I also tried a reviewer's suggestion and added some flaked salmon on top! PERFECTION! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a0325

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This was very good and simple to make. I did add extra garlic,asparagus, and mascarpone cheese, and topped it with freshly grated romano (parmesan would work too; any salty, grated cheese) and smoked salmon to contrast with the sweetness of the scallops and sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
We loved this recipe! Absolutely delicious! After reading some reviews I used 8oz of cream cheese instead & made a little less pasta. Followed the rest of the recipe exactly and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
My husband and I really liked this recipe. What an interesting way to use mascarpone. I made the recipe exactly as written except found that 16 oz. of pasta seemed like way too much. I probably only put about 10 oz. in and we felt that was just right. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
I was really looking forward to making this. We had 6 gorgeous bacon wrapped scallops, and that made the prep different, as we had to spend a bit more time browning the bacon around them. All in all, it was tasty, just wasn't knock us out of the park for the investment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Champlin, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hammond, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Superb. All of the ingredients blend together so well. I prepared this as written with two minor alterations. I cooked the scallops in the butter sauce prior to cooking the asparagus and mushrooms as I didn't have a pan large enough to add the scallops after the veggies and hope to brown them. Just not enough room in my pans. And, it turned out very well. Also, I cut back about a third on the pasta. I will say that the mascarpone cheese is a MUST for the full effect of the blend. You really must try all you can to find some. It comes out very buttery and the recipe's main ingredients are each naturally complemented by butter. Without a doubt the best scallop dish I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Excellent, excellent, excellent! GREAT way to make a more stable "creamy" sauce. Only change I made was using fresh onions instead of powder, and adding some shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States