Scallops Mascarpone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Night Owl
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Fantastic dish. . . The sauce is rich and has a perfectly sweet and subtle taste that compliments this seafood pasta dish. I added diced onion to the vegetables and upped the amount of asparagus and mushrooms, which is recommended. And if possible, add some shredded salmon on top of the pasta before placing the scallops and sauce on top as is seen in my photo for this recipe. It was a delicious idea that worked magnificently. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Night Owl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duvall, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Definetly restaurant quality. I used shrimp and left over linguini and sauted a half cup of finely sliced onions with the garlic/butter/ parsley at the beginning and added some broccoli. I also had about 1 1/2 c. of the cheese, so added milk until I got the consistency I wanted. Excellent recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
So easy and sooooo good! I added a little extra cheese to make the sauce a bit thicker. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess2334

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
My husband and I really liked this recipe. What an interesting way to use mascarpone. I made the recipe exactly as written except found that 16 oz. of pasta seemed like way too much. I probably only put about 10 oz. in and we felt that was just right. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Not bad, but kind of blah. Only change I made was that I used a lb of frozen broccoli instead of aspargus. Overall it just tasted bland, I think it would be better with a different kind of cheese, or maybe add cheddar or something swith a sharper taste (i dont know cheeses and have no idea if that would taste good or not so do it at your own risk)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
What a great recipe! Would have never guessed it had Mascarpone Cheese in it! Made a few changes seeing I didnt have fresh parsley I just used dried basil and 3 cloves of garlic. I used bay scallops (the small ones) so they werent overwhelling in the dish. Then used heavy cream instead of milk. Kinda glad because I think it would have been too runny with milk. The taste is lite and full of flavor! Will make this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I really wanted to make this, but had no mascarpone cheese, so I used 4 oz. half/half and 4 oz. sour cream instead. I don't know how it would have tasted with the mascarpone, but it was excellent even with these substitutions. One note though: I did add fresh grated parmesan on the plate & my husband & I both felt that made a huge addition to the overall flavor. I will make again using real mascarpone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravensdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This recipe was fantastic! My picky eating kids even liked it. There is nothing bland about this recipe. I love the fact that I can enjoy the flavors of the food and not some heavy overbearing sauce. I will definitely make this next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
YOM YOM! I made lots of changes to this recipe out of practicality/$$. I halved it because I was trying to use up 4 oz of mascarpone. I subbed bay scallops in for regular (cheaper and better IMO). I subbed broccoli for asparagus (cheaper and also delicious). I subbed rotini noodles for shells because I had those on hand. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fujiko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandan, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Sherwood, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This was delicious and very easy to make it was a lovely dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States