Scallops Mascarpone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Supper yummy. This is really creamy and delish thanks for sharing the recipe! This is added to my recipe box and look forward to making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Hurd-Burnell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I gave this recipe a 4 instead of 5 only because the sauce was bland. I added a pinch of nutmeg, salt and a few hot pepper flakes to it. It helped. I'm wondering; has anyone tried adding a splash of white wine to it? I really thought that was all that would be needed but I was concerned it would curdle it. I added a little flax seed meal to the sauce as well, but that's only b/c I knew you wouldn't be able to taste it. (Hey, I do what I have to do to counteract the junk food my husband puts in is system! ha) I substituted whole wheat pasta for the white. Again, the hubs didn't know the difference, although I could tell. Safeway had a great sale on colossal shrimp so I cut them up the size of scallops. I'd love to know if anyone has cut back on the butter and how it tasted. The dish was delicious and I wouldn't want to lose the flavor that the butter gives it. I will make this again! Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorCal Gal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Rohnert Park, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Yummy!!! I just made this, but used light cream cheese instead of Mascarpone (1/3 of the price) and added red pepper to the mix, organic white mushrooms and shitake mushrooms and lots of garlic (@ 4-5 cloves)...added health benefits and enhanced taste - Be careful not to overcook the scallops though, as I did a little (6 min max) - I also used extra virgin coconut oil instead of the olive oil as it is by far a healthier choice for cooking - you should avoid cooking with olive oil, and many others, as it becomes toxic when heated - grapeseed oil is another healthy oil that is safe for cooking/frying. My kids and husband love it (who are all picky eaters)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Another flexible recipe. I used Shitake mushrooms, chopped sweet onion, extra garlic and dried parsley. Fat free milk worked fine. A little parmesan and a hand full of sharp cheddar made a great sauce. Mascarpone goes well with prawns as well. I decreased the whole wheat spiral pasta to about 10 oz. Impress company with this elegant meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
O-M-G!!!! I love this recipe!!!! Thanks a bunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen V,LMT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Graniteville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This was very tasty, but also VERY rich. A glass of red wine with it is recommended for the arteries sake! The changes I made were-I used the lower fat cream cheese instead of mascarpone and added a red bell pepper and used 3/4 of a box of pasta. I'm going to reduce the amount of cream cheese next time and use more olive oil, maybe a little chichen broth so it isn't so heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALOUONIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I guess I have to give it 4 as I substituted the fresh basil that I had for the Parsley. Other than that I made it as directed (except using much less pasta) and it was very very good -- I have no idea about actual fat vs. alfredo but I think this was a lot lower fat and just as tasty. When I make it again I will use even less pasta and double the asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I took the suggestion of substituting cream cheese for Mascarpone. I used frozen broccoli, canned mushrooms, 1 tsp of dried parsley, and whatever pasta I could find in the pantry. It still turned out delicious... even got a thumbs up from my picky 11 yr old son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I had all the ingredients handy except the mascarpone, so I used Fontina instead. Also left out the mushrooms. I found that the asparagus took more than twice as long as the recipe suggested. Regardless, I give 5 stars because it was REALLY good! I'm eating some leftovers as I type this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATIES8422

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
WONDERFUL! I have been trying to think of a way to cook a bag of frozen scallops had on hand and this was absolutely delicious! Have made it twice already... First time with sauteed red onion, red pepper, pinon nuts, mushrooms and olives (instead of asparagus) and the second time with broccoli and cream cheese instead of mascarpone. I'm just not a big fan of asparagus. Both times was very very good, excellent for special occasions or company. Will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States