Scallops Mascarpone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Another flexible recipe. I used Shitake mushrooms, chopped sweet onion, extra garlic and dried parsley. Fat free milk worked fine. A little parmesan and a hand full of sharp cheddar made a great sauce. Mascarpone goes well with prawns as well. I decreased the whole wheat spiral pasta to about 10 oz. Impress company with this elegant meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Mountlake Terrace, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
O-M-G!!!! I love this recipe!!!! Thanks a bunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen V,LMT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Graniteville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This was very tasty, but also VERY rich. A glass of red wine with it is recommended for the arteries sake! The changes I made were-I used the lower fat cream cheese instead of mascarpone and added a red bell pepper and used 3/4 of a box of pasta. I'm going to reduce the amount of cream cheese next time and use more olive oil, maybe a little chichen broth so it isn't so heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALOUONIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I guess I have to give it 4 as I substituted the fresh basil that I had for the Parsley. Other than that I made it as directed (except using much less pasta) and it was very very good -- I have no idea about actual fat vs. alfredo but I think this was a lot lower fat and just as tasty. When I make it again I will use even less pasta and double the asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I took the suggestion of substituting cream cheese for Mascarpone. I used frozen broccoli, canned mushrooms, 1 tsp of dried parsley, and whatever pasta I could find in the pantry. It still turned out delicious... even got a thumbs up from my picky 11 yr old son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
I had all the ingredients handy except the mascarpone, so I used Fontina instead. Also left out the mushrooms. I found that the asparagus took more than twice as long as the recipe suggested. Regardless, I give 5 stars because it was REALLY good! I'm eating some leftovers as I type this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATIES8422

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
WONDERFUL! I have been trying to think of a way to cook a bag of frozen scallops had on hand and this was absolutely delicious! Have made it twice already... First time with sauteed red onion, red pepper, pinon nuts, mushrooms and olives (instead of asparagus) and the second time with broccoli and cream cheese instead of mascarpone. I'm just not a big fan of asparagus. Both times was very very good, excellent for special occasions or company. Will be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This turned out very well. The reason I'm only giving 4 stars rather than 5 is because it called for way to much pasta! I only added half the amount of pasta and still it was a bit to much for me. I used 1/2 pound scallops and added shrimp to make up the difference. The sauce was very good. Only thing I would do different is cut back a bit more on pasta and add a few more vegetables such as red peppers, broccoli etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This is a great recipe for scallops. I cook the scallops in butter and evoo first to get a nice color on them and then add them in with everything else at the end. In addition to marscarpone, I also add some cream cheese to the sauce for a little extra flavor, and I use fresh broccoli instead of asparagus (just because it's what I've had on hand each time I've made this). I'm a novice with scallops and I'm really glad I found this recipe because now I can make a meal out of them and not just an appetizer! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Really delicious. Next time I will cook the scallops in a separate pan (my pan was crowded and I don't think it was hot enough when I added them) just for ease of preparation. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyckoff, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States