Scallops Mascarpone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Loved this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This was good as written, but not quite worth the 38 grams of fat per serving. It was too rich for me but my husband liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I loved this recipe, the basic concept is a truly nice dish...The marscarpone comes in an 8 oz. tub by the way in case you are searching the isles for a block of cheese. I substituted whole grain, whole wheat medium shells, added more parsley and about a 1/2 cup of garlic and went heavy on adding the fresh parmesan. I truly loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This was really good. I ended up going with the 8oz package of mascarpone, about four (maybe more) tablespoons of sour cream and a good 1/4-1/2 cup of heavy cream to make the sauce. This was SO delicious. Also, in addition to the asparagus, I made tiny little broccoli pieces and added those as well. I will make this again and again...BIG HIT! Oh oh, and I used two pounds of baby scallops because I find regular scallops to be too big for a meal like this and very expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchengal

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Loved this recipe. The flavor was great, but could maybe use a little bit more kick. I added a bit of cilantro which really added another dimension, but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. Changes for next time: less pasta if not a different kind and more spice (as I said)...and I might add something else like another type of seafood. Still, this straight recipe is certainly a keeper and I will be trying it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antlers, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I thought this was good but I wouldn't consider it "light" fare. It's a shame I won't be making it again, my husband didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Wow, what a decadent tasting meal! Did not have mascarpone, so following advice of others, I had to wing it on the sauce. I used sour cream, 1/2 and 1/2 and milk. When that was mixed and simmering, I added the parmesan cheese right into that and melted it. Hubby won't eat mushrooms so excluded those. Used 1/2 bag of egg noodle dumplings and that was the perfect amount of pasta. This was so great! My husband wouldn't eat the asparagus, so I got doubles on that. ;) Thanks Andy for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Supper yummy. This is really creamy and delish thanks for sharing the recipe! This is added to my recipe box and look forward to making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I gave this recipe a 4 instead of 5 only because the sauce was bland. I added a pinch of nutmeg, salt and a few hot pepper flakes to it. It helped. I'm wondering; has anyone tried adding a splash of white wine to it? I really thought that was all that would be needed but I was concerned it would curdle it. I added a little flax seed meal to the sauce as well, but that's only b/c I knew you wouldn't be able to taste it. (Hey, I do what I have to do to counteract the junk food my husband puts in is system! ha) I substituted whole wheat pasta for the white. Again, the hubs didn't know the difference, although I could tell. Safeway had a great sale on colossal shrimp so I cut them up the size of scallops. I'd love to know if anyone has cut back on the butter and how it tasted. The dish was delicious and I wouldn't want to lose the flavor that the butter gives it. I will make this again! Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorCal Gal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Rohnert Park, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Yummy!!! I just made this, but used light cream cheese instead of Mascarpone (1/3 of the price) and added red pepper to the mix, organic white mushrooms and shitake mushrooms and lots of garlic (@ 4-5 cloves)...added health benefits and enhanced taste - Be careful not to overcook the scallops though, as I did a little (6 min max) - I also used extra virgin coconut oil instead of the olive oil as it is by far a healthier choice for cooking - you should avoid cooking with olive oil, and many others, as it becomes toxic when heated - grapeseed oil is another healthy oil that is safe for cooking/frying. My kids and husband love it (who are all picky eaters)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States