Scallops Mascarpone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by asher24601
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Had some scallops in the freezer and needed a recipe. I was not disappointed in the slightest! My husband had three helpings. I followed the recipe almost exactly (except I used veggie rotini), because that's what I do when I first try one out. Tonight I'm making it again because my husband is asking for it and the only thing I plan on changing is adding a little more garlic and maybe dicing fresh onion instead of using the powder. Olive Garden eat your heart out, this recipe is fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by asher24601

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
A new household favorite. Looking forward to making it again. The recipe is so versatile that you could add other veggies or meats (but I do LOVE the scallops and asparagus). I cook gluten free, so made it with gf angle hair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Amazingly scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kealasgram

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winchester, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I doubled the garlic, added some extra garlic powder and onion powerder. It was delicious, but I didn't put enough salt and, as other users have commented, some shredded salmon on top would have made this a perfect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This was fabulous. I made a few changes: Neufchatel cheese instead of mascarapone, at least 3 cloves of garlic, added green onion, and used bay scallops to save some cash (recipe didn't specify but I think it's for sea scallops). I cooked veggies in a big skillet, added scallops the last couple minutes to cook, then added cheese/milk to skillet to melt and blend (tah dah - one pan not counting pasta :). Tossed it all over the cooked shells and ate it up. Will totally make again -think it would be tasty with a splash of white wine in the sauce and maybe lemon zest. Might even change the veggies - I really like the versatility of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENOXALLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I will definitely make this again. I used 2 cloves of garlic and doubled the sauce recipe. Also spinkled some green onion on top for added color & flavor. I included smoked salmon too. Really easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I had some mascarpone to use up after making a tiramisu, but I only had 4 ounces. Plus, I figured it's such a high fat cheese, this dish could use a little lightening. So in addition to the 4oz. mascarpone, I used an ounce of fat free cream cheese, an ounce of light sour cream, and a quarter cup of fat free half and half. I used skim milk as well. And I was sad when I realized I was out of scallops, so I used 1/2 lb small shrimp with great success. And I love asparagus, but didn't have any so I substituted with a cup of steamed and shredded broccoli. I cut down the butter significantly as well, using only 1 tablespoon (margarine) in which to simmer the shrimp. I didn't use oil at all. I only had garlic powder on hand, but had fresh basil and parsley that I used, and I also ground up 2 tsp dried rosemary into the sauce. Even with the lightened ingredients, this was very rich and delicious. I don't typically keep mascarpone on hand, but I will be making this again, but I'll use reduced fat cream cheese in place of the mascarpone, probably with the proportions being 3 ounces reduced fat cream cheese, 2 ounces fat free cream cheese, and the same amounts of light sour cream and half and half. And I'll have to try this with scallops too, as I like them better than shrimp in general. I may need to use the oil for searing as instructed, but we'll see. Also, this is suited for just 8 ounces of pasta (I used whole wheat penne as I had no shells... bowties would have been fun too!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Terrific as written, Quick, easy, and delicious. Also, you can make lots of changes and it's still delicious. Here are the changes I made tonight, mostly because of what I had on hand: Goat cheese (instead of mascarpone); Angel hair pasta; Seared 3 small Tilapia (along with the Scallops); Chopped Onion (instead of Onion Powder); 5 Cloves Garlic (instead of just one); Fresh Cilantro (instead of Fresh Parsley); No Salt added; used Unsalted Butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
So delicious, pretty fast, and very easy! I doubled the amount of parsley and added parmesean to the sauce, as someone suggested. I also used cream cheese instead of mascarpone. The sauce was so amazing that even our toddler devoured an entire bowl, including the asparagus! He ate the asparagus!! Woo hoo! I would definitely make this for company and will certainly make it again at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This recipe is delicious. I didn't have any mushrooms, so I added onions instead and they were wonderful with the asparagus. I also had to use cream cheese instead of mascarpone. I added about 1/2 cup of shredded parmesean cheese to that mixture too. It was so creamy and delicious, I will definitely try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMCookinNow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States