Scallops Mascarpone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I doubled the garlic, added some extra garlic powder and onion powerder. It was delicious, but I didn't put enough salt and, as other users have commented, some shredded salmon on top would have made this a perfect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This was fabulous. I made a few changes: Neufchatel cheese instead of mascarapone, at least 3 cloves of garlic, added green onion, and used bay scallops to save some cash (recipe didn't specify but I think it's for sea scallops). I cooked veggies in a big skillet, added scallops the last couple minutes to cook, then added cheese/milk to skillet to melt and blend (tah dah - one pan not counting pasta :). Tossed it all over the cooked shells and ate it up. Will totally make again -think it would be tasty with a splash of white wine in the sauce and maybe lemon zest. Might even change the veggies - I really like the versatility of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENOXALLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I will definitely make this again. I used 2 cloves of garlic and doubled the sauce recipe. Also spinkled some green onion on top for added color & flavor. I included smoked salmon too. Really easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I had some mascarpone to use up after making a tiramisu, but I only had 4 ounces. Plus, I figured it's such a high fat cheese, this dish could use a little lightening. So in addition to the 4oz. mascarpone, I used an ounce of fat free cream cheese, an ounce of light sour cream, and a quarter cup of fat free half and half. I used skim milk as well. And I was sad when I realized I was out of scallops, so I used 1/2 lb small shrimp with great success. And I love asparagus, but didn't have any so I substituted with a cup of steamed and shredded broccoli. I cut down the butter significantly as well, using only 1 tablespoon (margarine) in which to simmer the shrimp. I didn't use oil at all. I only had garlic powder on hand, but had fresh basil and parsley that I used, and I also ground up 2 tsp dried rosemary into the sauce. Even with the lightened ingredients, this was very rich and delicious. I don't typically keep mascarpone on hand, but I will be making this again, but I'll use reduced fat cream cheese in place of the mascarpone, probably with the proportions being 3 ounces reduced fat cream cheese, 2 ounces fat free cream cheese, and the same amounts of light sour cream and half and half. And I'll have to try this with scallops too, as I like them better than shrimp in general. I may need to use the oil for searing as instructed, but we'll see. Also, this is suited for just 8 ounces of pasta (I used whole wheat penne as I had no shells... bowties would have been fun too!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Terrific as written, Quick, easy, and delicious. Also, you can make lots of changes and it's still delicious. Here are the changes I made tonight, mostly because of what I had on hand: Goat cheese (instead of mascarpone); Angel hair pasta; Seared 3 small Tilapia (along with the Scallops); Chopped Onion (instead of Onion Powder); 5 Cloves Garlic (instead of just one); Fresh Cilantro (instead of Fresh Parsley); No Salt added; used Unsalted Butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
So delicious, pretty fast, and very easy! I doubled the amount of parsley and added parmesean to the sauce, as someone suggested. I also used cream cheese instead of mascarpone. The sauce was so amazing that even our toddler devoured an entire bowl, including the asparagus! He ate the asparagus!! Woo hoo! I would definitely make this for company and will certainly make it again at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This recipe is delicious. I didn't have any mushrooms, so I added onions instead and they were wonderful with the asparagus. I also had to use cream cheese instead of mascarpone. I added about 1/2 cup of shredded parmesean cheese to that mixture too. It was so creamy and delicious, I will definitely try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMCookinNow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Wonderful! A new different pasta meal. Made just like recipe without the asparagus. The word WOW kept coming out of our mouths.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I was looking for a nice romantic meal for valentines day!! I came across this recipe knowing my husband loves scallops I decided to make it! I had never even cooked scallops before. This came out AMAZING!!!! The kids didn't like scallops before this meal and they devoured it!!!! A+ from the whole family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Living In: Oak Grove, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
With such high reviews, I had high expectations. I found the sauce to be quite bland and not worth the extraordinarily high fat content so I ended up just having carmelized scallops on their own which was wonderful. This sauce is like an unflavorful version of fettuccine... Not recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Scallops with Fresh Corn Cream

See how to make seared scallops with easy, no-cream fresh corn cream.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States