Scallops and Spinach over Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
This is wonderful! I used fresh spinach and added tomatoes and onions, sauteeing some garlic in the oil before adding the scallops. Really good, and pretty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
Enjoyed this. Made some changes though. I sauteed sea scallops(halved) seasoned with salt and pepper in butter. Then I sauteed the spinach in olive oil and garlic,fresh ground pepper, added a can of low sodium fat free chicken broth and the lemon juice. Tossed all with the pasta. Yum. Thanks for a new idea for a pasta dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
I agree, this recipe lacked flavor. I added sliced portabello and crimini mushrooms and served it over cheese tortellinis, which helped a bit. I would suggest Not sauteing the spinach - it makes everything too watery. Instead, add it to the pasta water just before the pasta is done - this will heat it and distribute evenly over the pasta. Then, just saute the scallops in the garlic, oil and lemon and mushrooms (if desired) - this will preserve their flavor. If I try this recipe again, it will be like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
This was okay. Although I really try to follow the original recipe as often as possible, I really couldn't resist some of the top reviewer's suggestions. So, I put a package of fresh baby spinach in the pasta water during the last minute of cooking; sauted fresh garlic w/ sliced mushrooms in 1 T. olive oil, adding the scallops when the mushrooms looked just about ready; used 1/4 c. chicken broth w/ 1-1/2 t. corn starch whisked in; tossed the drained pasta & spinach together w/ the scallops and served with salt, cracked pepper, & freshly grated parmigiano-reggiano cheese. Still needs some tweaking...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2001
i used whipping cream instead of water. it was ammazing!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
A delicious - quick, easy, healthy dinner! I defrosted frozen scallops & leaf spinach in microwave while pasta water was boiling - Then sauteed with garlic, shallots, lemon juice, a few chopped cocktail tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Great recipe, however I did have to doctor the recipe for more flavor. I added butter and sauted the scallops and spinach separately. I didn't add the water as the scallops and spinach both had plenty of liquid. I added parmesean to both and then combined them... It needs plenty of seasoning... but the end result reminded me of creamed spinach with a seafood flair.. My husband loved it! ;) Me too! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
Good recipe but I added a few things - little red pepper flake for some zing and added a little butter at the end to make sauce a little more special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
I agree that this recipe lacked flavor. I used minced garlic, but next time I would use only fresh garlic and possibly fresh spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Add extra garlic and a bit of basil and it's one of my fave dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eastport, Maine, USA
Living In: Machiasport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States