Scalloped Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2004
I DOUBLED THE RECIPE, BUT I USED STILL THE SAME AMOUNT OF BUTTER AND 1 ONION FOR A SINGLE BATCH. WE DON'T LIKE ALOT OF ONION FLAVOR. I CUT THE BUTTER TO CUT FAT. IT WORKED REAL GOOD. I SIMMERED ALL INGREDIENTS ON TOP OF THE STOVE. DIDN'T WANT TO HEAT UP THE HOUSE. WORKED GREAT FOR US. THANKS, CATHY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2003
Absolutely LOVE this recipe!!!! I did read the reviews before making, so used seasoned dry croutons instead of regular bread cubes. Used the tomatoes from my garden. The slightly sweet taste (used a little less brown sugar then called for) is WONDERFUL! This is, definitely, a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
Sorry, but this was tasteless and a soggy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
Delicious! I used Roma tomatoes because they have less pulp in them. I used 6 good sized ones since they are a little smaller than regular tomatoes. Next time, I will use a stouter bread instead of "kids'" bread (Wonder, yuck!), which is all I had on hand. The grated cheese idea sounds good, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
This was a nice alternative for veggie fare. I loved it and remember my mom making something similar when I was a kid... but my husband and son didn't care for it. I think it would work for a ladies luncheon. I'll make it again just for me! Thanks Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
Not bad if you're a tomato lover! Must have good "in-season" tomatoes with lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
This was almost like a desert for me. I made this a couple of months ago, I'll have to go back and make it again. I love tomatoes. I'll have to go to the farmers market and get some fresh ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
Not only tastes fantastic but looks beautiful. Nice company side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
This was very easy. I used fresh tomatoes and added some minced garlic and topped it with a ton of grated romano. It was a huge hit! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
This was a very good side dish for people who like tomatoes. I am not a tomato-lover, yet I have got over my childish dislike of them, so I enjoyed this dish. It is very tasty. However, my picky siblings did not enjoy it. It's definitely better not to serve to kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States