Scalloped Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This is the first time I've ever made scalloped tomatoes and I'm so glad I did! They were delicious! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
made it last night w/many tomatoes fresh from my garden. Added chopped fresh spinach, mozarella, parmesan, seasoned croutons instead of bread cubes, and a good amount of garlic. Even my 14 year old ate it. It's all gone now because I had the rest as breakfast! Very nice recipe find, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and it was a mush, a not very much tomato flavor mushy bread. I wasted 6 of my beautiful home-grown tomatoes on this dish that I just threw away after one taste. Don't bother making this unless you like mushy white bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
The original version of this recipe was something my mom used to make. I made it once for my husband and he didn't like it. Then I saw something similar on a cooking show but with some additions. The additions were garlic, basil and cheese. I love the original. Hubby loved the morphed version. Each is a great way to showcase fresh out of the garden tomatoes. And in mid winter, try it with canned diced tomatoes. takes you right back to summer!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Saylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Great dish! I used it as a side dish with scrambled eggs and whole wheat pancakes - basically in place of hashbrown casserole. The only change I made was to use whole wheat bread and I toasted it before mixing it in. The flavor was great. Like another reviewer said - I may peel the tomatoes next time. Also it was a little soupy. But overall it was a great compliment with our brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Came out a little soupy, but was very tasty! If you have an overabundance of tomatoes from your garden it is a great recipe for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Pretty awesome. It was a bit soggy but the taste made up for it. This would make an awesome pizza sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
My grandmother made a similar dish...I used olive oil to replace butter....will try ww bread next time. Thanks for posting this! You can use cheese or not, different seasonings etc. and, I used canned tomatoes with juice~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I also added cheese, parmesan and a mozza cheddar blend... I forgot the brown sugar but sure did not miss it. Yummmmm! I also just used some foccacia croutons instead of the bread cubes. A very good vegan side dish to use up my Roma tomatoes! Thanks Linda for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I loved this recipe. I probably would not add as much brown sugar next time, as I like my tomatoes a little less sweet. I followed other suggestions and toasted my bread cubes until crusty, and added some garlic. Substituted half the butter for some olive oil. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NB Roy

Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States