Scalloped Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I have to admit, I was skeptical about this recipe. Brown sugar...really? But it had so many good reviews, and we had so many tomatoes, we decided to give it a shot. I used toasted wheat bread and added Parmesan. It was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eldorado, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Very very tasty. Used homegrown tomatoes and seasoned croutons, added a little garlic, and topped with parmesan shavings during the last 10 minutes. Will be sure to make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Terrific recipe! I had so many tomatoes ripe in the garden that I didn't know what to do with. I used a mixture of red cherry, golden dwarf, yellow plumb and snow white tomatoes for a nice color variation. I'm glad I came across this recipe. I read all of the reviews and decided to mix in 1/4 cup shredded parmesian as well as sprinkle a bit on top. I used fresh basil, about 1/4 cup. The bread I had on hand was a sourdough wheat. It added a subtle flavor of it's own. Turned out great! Will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This is the first time I've ever made scalloped tomatoes and I'm so glad I did! They were delicious! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
made it last night w/many tomatoes fresh from my garden. Added chopped fresh spinach, mozarella, parmesan, seasoned croutons instead of bread cubes, and a good amount of garlic. Even my 14 year old ate it. It's all gone now because I had the rest as breakfast! Very nice recipe find, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and it was a mush, a not very much tomato flavor mushy bread. I wasted 6 of my beautiful home-grown tomatoes on this dish that I just threw away after one taste. Don't bother making this unless you like mushy white bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
The original version of this recipe was something my mom used to make. I made it once for my husband and he didn't like it. Then I saw something similar on a cooking show but with some additions. The additions were garlic, basil and cheese. I love the original. Hubby loved the morphed version. Each is a great way to showcase fresh out of the garden tomatoes. And in mid winter, try it with canned diced tomatoes. takes you right back to summer!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orinda, California, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Great dish! I used it as a side dish with scrambled eggs and whole wheat pancakes - basically in place of hashbrown casserole. The only change I made was to use whole wheat bread and I toasted it before mixing it in. The flavor was great. Like another reviewer said - I may peel the tomatoes next time. Also it was a little soupy. But overall it was a great compliment with our brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Came out a little soupy, but was very tasty! If you have an overabundance of tomatoes from your garden it is a great recipe for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Pretty awesome. It was a bit soggy but the taste made up for it. This would make an awesome pizza sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States