Scalloped Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This was excellent. So glad to find a recipe with fresh tomatoes as I used to make a version with diced canned tomatoes. Only changes were that i used gluten free bread cubes and I misread the recipe and used 1/4 c brown sugar. For our taste that was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Made this with the last of the cherry tomatoes from our garden. Left out the onions because of an intolerance in the family. I toasted the bread cubes and used gluten free bread. Served with parmesan to sprinkle on at the table because not all of us can eat cheese, and it was delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
This is a very good recipe, but it needed croutons instead of bread. I used garlic flavored croutons. I added parmesan cheese into the casserole, my husband also suggested adding sauteed boneless, skinless seasoned chicken, which I did the next time, then topped it all with more parmesan cheese & mozzarella cheese. It was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendaapr68

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I make this exactly as written every time and my wife and I love it. She mentions that her mom toasts the bread and adds more sugar, but I always "forget" that when I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RepairedHam

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, California, USA
Living In: Galena, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I loved it. I made it as written. Will try it next time with half the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
i liked this! toasted the bread cubes pretty first and added parmesan cheese. i scaled back the recipe slightly b/c it was just for two of us, but we devoured it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This recipe sounded unusual but I was looking for something different to do with homegrown tomatoes. We enjoyed this very much and I will be preparing tomatoes this way again. I halved recipe to serve just 2 people. I did not add mozzarella as some reviews suggested and I'm glad I didn't. This doesn't need the extra calories or sodium. I did use less brown sugar as ripe tomatoes were extremely sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irayd8 no more!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evergreen Park, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Great recipe, everyone loved it. Tips: slice tomatoes and lay them on paper towels to get some of the liquid out. I used some toasted bread and seasoned bread cubes that you make stuffing with. They held up great and did not get mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Great way to use all those fresh tomatoes. I added garbanzo beans one night. Great veggie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This turned out great with a few tweaks. I only used 1 tbsp of butter, 2 tsp brown sugar, whole wheat bread cubes, and 2 tbs Parmesan sprinkled on top. It turned out way better than expected!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States