Scalloped Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Great way to use all those fresh tomatoes. I added garbanzo beans one night. Great veggie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
This turned out great with a few tweaks. I only used 1 tbsp of butter, 2 tsp brown sugar, whole wheat bread cubes, and 2 tbs Parmesan sprinkled on top. It turned out way better than expected!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
When unpacking my groceries, I discovered that my plum tomatoes had been "roughed up" quite a bit in transit. They needed to be used quickly and in a way that would disguise their condition. On the advice of other reviewers, I toasted my bread cubes in the oven prior to mixing them in with the tomatoes, onions, and seasonings. Also, I had fresh basil on hand, so I tossed some in, along with the dried basil that is called for. I love the flavor, but I find the mushy bread cubes give this dish an unpleasant texture. My mother used to make a similar dish that called for garlic croutons and was cooked in the microwave. I will try this again, but topped with bread cubes or croutons, not mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
This was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Delicious!! This recipe is perfect for using up tomatoes that are not so red & ripe. Even better the next day reheated in the oven! I made sourdough bread in my bread machine just to make this recipe. This is now a monthly meal my son asks for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
These are scrumptious! The only change I made was to add a small chopped up green pepper because I had a lot from the garden. I think maybe if I made it again I might decrease the sugar by just a tad and maybe even use a couple more tomatoes. But just wonderful the way it is. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This was a mess; the brown sugar made the tomatoes bitter. This won't be a repeat in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I also added a couple of things, fresh minced garlic, some chopped red bell pepper and grated Colby Jack cheese!! ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!!!! Big plus, just as good the next day!!! This will be one of my go to recipes every chance I get!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I am not a fan of tomatoes, but I've been looking for ways to eat them that I can actually enjoy. This recipe did the trick! I made mine with a nutty multi-grain bread, which added great texture. It's super easy, good for you, and I made it for less that 50 cents! Great with a sprinkle of parm and a side of toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Sheridan, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I have to admit, I was skeptical about this recipe. Brown sugar...really? But it had so many good reviews, and we had so many tomatoes, we decided to give it a shot. I used toasted wheat bread and added Parmesan. It was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eldorado, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States