Scalloped Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I used roma tomatoes because that is what I had on hand. I wasn't really impressed with this recipe, it was ok (didn't taste bad jusst nothing spectacular) but nothing I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Loved this recipe. It's a great way to use the abundant harvest we have had this year & it tastes delicious. As others have done I used seasoned croutons, added garlic & topped with Parmesan cheese for the last 2 min. My husband called the meal a feast. This will be my 'go to' recipe for tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This was an interesting recipe that offered up a way to use those extra garden tomatoes. I liked the concept of this recipe and it smelled wonderful during baking. I added garlic, freshly sliced basil and grated parmesan cheese to add more dimension. There were textural issues which created a mushy result. I saw that other reviewers suggested using croutons in place of bread cubes to get an element of crispness. However, I would recommend this recipe to tomato lovers since it has so many positive reviews. It was both a healthy and creative way to use tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This is a recipe often found throughout Italy - with a few adjustments. Olive oil in place of butter, fresh basil in place of dried, day old bread made into croutons in place of bread, garlic added to the onion saute, Romano cheese added to mixture, & topped off with mozzarella cheese. Drizzle lightly with extra-virgin olive oil when it comes out of the oven & you are all set!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
This dish is so delicious. My husband went back for seconds and is looking forward to me making it again soon. I didn't have any white bread. So, I used Seasoned Italian Croutons and omitted the salt. I also added some extra tomatoes and topped it with mild cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leda Elia
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Beautiful & wonderful taste! I used 9x13, 7 medium tomatoes, 1 diced zucchini, 7tbsp butter, only 1tsp salt, diced half onion, pepper, 6 tsp brown sugar, 1tsp basil & 4cups diced fresh sourdough bread, and sprinkled Parmesan cheese into the mix and then on top for final few mins in oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leda Elia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I used tomatoes that I had blanched and froze from last year's garden, and drained most of the juice. I followed the recipe, adding additional brown sugar because we like them sweeter, basil, garlic salt and parmesan cheese. Instead of white bread cubes, I chopped up garlic herb rolls my hubby had bought at the bakery. We loved this and it will be a go-to recipe for our tomatoes this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I thought this was very good. My mom used to make something similar to this. Probably a dish not everyone would like, but we did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Really good and a great way to use up old bread and ends of tomatoes. I had extra tops and bottoms along with a slice of ciabatta that worked very well without pre-toasting. Parmesan was added at the baking stage and some mozzarella the last 10 minutes which I would definitely do again. The dish was put together early in the day and refrigerated, but baking it uncovered made a great consistency for us. Thanks for the recipe - we'll use it regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
This was excellent. So glad to find a recipe with fresh tomatoes as I used to make a version with diced canned tomatoes. Only changes were that i used gluten free bread cubes and I misread the recipe and used 1/4 c brown sugar. For our taste that was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sun-Dried Tomatoes I

See how to make your own sun-dried tomatoes in the oven.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States