Scalloped Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I was a little skeptical of this recipe because I envisioned a dish full of stewed tomatoes with soggy bread. O.K. I was wrong. I used 2 cups red tomatoes and 2 cups orange tomatoes, which I seeded before chopping as a personal preference. I thought about peeling the tomatoes but decided against it, and in spite of the seeming long cook time (for tomatoes), they didn't breakdown into a sauce with tough bits of skin but stayed in reasonably whole pieces. I resisted the urge to tinker too much with the recipe and used the whole wheat bread instead of the leftover sour dough bread that begged to be tossed in. The most significant changes I made were to add some minced garlic and fresh herbs; basil, oregano and parsley. I also topped it with a bit of Parmesan cheese. We very much enjoyed this dish served with Barbecued Ribs, Spaghetti with pesto and fresh local corn. I will make it again but probably will add some mushrooms and chopped zucchini to flesh it out a bit. I wouldn't make it without the garlic and herbs because I thought that it could have used even more than I added. Great light summer side dish but consider you own tastes when you make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laughingmagpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Photo by AngieItaliano
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This recipe really surprised me. First of all the texture was perfect. Not watery like I expected. I only used 3 cups of tomatoes and I thought it was the right amount in ratio with the rest of the ingredients. The honey gave it a nice sweetness and I liked the flavor the mustard gave this dish, but I didn't find that it had enough flavor. Next time I would like to add garlic, herbs and Parmesan cheese as other reviewers suggested. I will use this recipe as a base and really have fun with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngieItaliano

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
My husband and I both liked this.We had this with steak and garlic bread. I had wished I would have added some garlic to this, but I did the recipe as is .It really showcased the tomatoes which are the true stars of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I was pleasantly surprised at how well this dish turned out. I altered the recipe minimally, EVOO instead of butter and dry toasted bread cubes. I had only multigrain bread, which was slightly sweeter than regular whole wheat and the flavor did come through, but in a good way. I also used a coarse, brown mustard since that was all I had at hand. If I make it again I will add garlic and more onion and get creative with herbs since this was a little blander than I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I made this twice. First time was a watery mess. Thought I would give it another chance, so second time, I deseeded the tomatoes. Much better. It was just ok for me. A little bland. Husband and son said just ok. Definitely needs some more spices. I would have to jazz it up some, maybe even with some cream in it. We are not really tomato only type dish fans, too much like stewed tomatoes with bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I really didn't like this dish. It needs some serious tweeking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheffy Tomato

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Very nice flavor and nice light side dish. A great way to use up your garden tomatoes. I served with sausage links and a garden salad. My kids didn't really like it and they aren't picky so that was a little disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Very good recipe. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Great dish. I de-seeded the tomatoes and ended up with a perfect consistency in the end. I added garlic to the onions and celery. Had no bread, so used croutons instead. Other than that, no changes. The honey mustard adds a nice flavor to the tomatoes. Use the best tomatoes you can. If you use flavor-less hot house varieties, you will end up with a flavor-less dish. I halved the recipe with great results. We are on a food plan that counts points, and each serving came out to equal 2 points. Will make this part of our regular rotation. Thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Awesome side dish; made it for the first time. I used fresh tomatoes on the vine, what wonderful flavor and so easy to make. I will be making this a lot more. I absolutely loved the fresh flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States