Scalloped Sweet Potatoes and Butternut Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Excellent. Due to time constraints, I handled the pre-baking differently: First I peeled then thinly sliced the squash and potatoes with food processor blade, then microwaved for 5 minutes with a little olive oil. Everything else I did as written. Start to finish in about 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This dish was so tasty. I added a carrot along with the sweet potatoes and butternut squash. The combinations of flavors make this an excellent dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
5 stars for flavor, but between my slow slicing and an oven that runs a little on the cool side, this took me 2 1/2 hrs to make. Next time, I will have to use a mandolin slicer to speed things up. (The thinner slices should bring me down closer to the stated bake time as well.) I also added extra milk, forgetting that the squash releases quite a bit of liquid as it cooks, so my sauce was more watery than creamy. HOWEVER..., the dish was still absolutely delicious--almost dessert-worthy. Can't wait to try this one on company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake Until Golden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Delicious! You can also substitute shaved parmesan cheese and a little grated parmesan cheese for the asiago, as I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I used this recipe but changed a couple things.. I added mushrooms to the sauce as well as a few other spices. In addition to that when layering the pan I added spinach and ricotta. I'll post pictures after its been baked off. Great recipe I thank you for the sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Super delicious. I personally like to cook with wine and I added about 1/4 c of pinot grigio to the sauce. I also added a clove of chopped galic as well. Amazing flavor. It was the first time I tried butternut squash. Will definitely be making this again. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
My family loved it. Potatoes we not quite cooked for the baking time. I would cook it an additional 1/2 hour. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I was looking for something other than the usual mashed sweet potatoes for dinner with friends and decided to try this. I doubled the number of sweet potatoes and butternut squash without doubling the sauce, but it was fine. (There's a lot of variation in the sizes of sweet potatoes, too, so it's sort of hard to tell whether I was really "doubling" the original amount.) Instead of garlic salt I used garlic herb butter (Kerrygold) for the sauce and it was delicious. More preparation time than I wanted, but I will definitely make it again anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I loved this dish! Idid make quite a few changes, but stayed to the idea of the dish. I didnt have asiago so I used mozzarella and fresh parmesan. I also used a whole onion. The sauce was not enough to coat the vegies so I added another cup of milk/1 tbsp flour. In addition, no sage so I used thyme, a little garlic salt and I like the cinnamon taste mixed with root vegies so I added a teaspoon. My husband was skeptical, but said it was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
bland...needs more garlic or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Candied Sweet Potatoes

See how to put the sweet in sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States