Scalloped Sweet Potatoes and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2001
This is a delicious recipe. I played with it a bit, because when I hear mace, I think of the stuff you spray in someone's eyes to avoid being mugged. (Hey, I live in New York City.) I used half nutmeg and half cinnamon instead. I also used green apples and grated them first, people liked that better. And the green apples make it a bit tart, while sweet at the same time. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I searched for a recipe to match what my grandmother "used to make" when my dad was a kid, and I think this is it! I highly recommend using mace for this - it's much spicier than a cinnamon/nutmeg combination and really creates the flavor. I parboiled the apple slices in about an inch of water to soften them up a bit since the potatoes were already cooked. My last try resulted in soft potatoes and solid apples, so that did the trick! Thanks, Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
Yum! I served this for Christmas dinner with baked ham, cornbread dressing, Sesame Green Beans and salad. It was wonderful! I took advice from other's who reviewed this recipe and used 1/2 tsp. nutmeg and 1/2 tsp. cinnamon in place of the mace and shredded the apples (Granny Smiths). I also covered with foil during the first 45 minutes of baking, then uncovered for 15 min. to brown slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
Very good!! Followed a couple of recommendations from other reviewers (nutmeg and cinnamon instead of mace, and green apples - chopped). Also used an 'apple-crisp' like topping (1/2 cup each: brown sugar, flour, butter, pecans - for 9x13) which really put it over the top!! Several non-sweet potatoes eaters raved and asked for the recipe at my office luncheon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
This is a very interesting dish. Could either be a side or a desert. I parboiled my apples like another reviewer did. This was very, very good. Three of us for dinner almost devovered it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mosinee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was excellent! I made it just the way the recipe calls with the exception of using pumpkin pie spice in place of mace as I didnt' have any. Even my twin 3 year old boys loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I make this dish every year around the holidays and it is a big hit! Even my family members who really don't like sweet potatoes love it! I don't make it with mace either. I use cinnamon and nutmeg with Granny Smith Apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
Super!! Would cover with foil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
This was the best sweet potato recipe ever. So easy to make. I left out the mace and added cinnamin. This rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIPITUP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tabernacle, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
This was very good. The apples are a nice change. I used cinnamon instead of mace. For the final portion of the brown sugar mixture, I added a TBSP of flour for the top. Nuts would have been very good but I didn't have any. Will use this recipe again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States