Scalloped Sweet Potatoes and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
Good - and fairly easy to prepare. Will try it with pork chops or ham next - may be even better than with turkey (made this as one of our Thanksgiving side dishes). My husband thought it would be great to add a crumbly, crispy topping to it, as it would add another texture - and another layer of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2000
We made this with nutmeg and cinnamon and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2000
I made this for Thanksgiving instead of the usual syrupy sweet potatoes with marshmallows. Everybody loved it--less fat and calories than my "usual", with a great flavor. I used cinammon instead of mace. I'll definitely make this again (and my mom wanted the recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2001
The adults loved it! The kids tend to be a bit pickier. But overall it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2001
This is a delicious recipe. I played with it a bit, because when I hear mace, I think of the stuff you spray in someone's eyes to avoid being mugged. (Hey, I live in New York City.) I used half nutmeg and half cinnamon instead. I also used green apples and grated them first, people liked that better. And the green apples make it a bit tart, while sweet at the same time. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
I was looking for a simple recipe that my 2yr old would like. I found it !!!! And my husband and I loved it too. Will likely become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
Great recipe and not sweet and gooey like those marshmallow ones. Will definitely use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was excellent! I made it just the way the recipe calls with the exception of using pumpkin pie spice in place of mace as I didnt' have any. Even my twin 3 year old boys loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
This is truly a great recipe! Taste's scrumpiously delicious. The only drawback, was that my family felt the presentation is a little too dark to look as appetizing as it really is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
This was the best sweet potato recipe ever. So easy to make. I left out the mace and added cinnamin. This rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIPITUP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tabernacle, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States