Scalloped Sweet Potatoes and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 9, 2003
MY FAMILY AND I ENJOYED THIS RECIPE. JUST THE RIGHT AMOUNT OF TARTNESS IN THE APPLES TO OFFSET THE SWEET POTATOES. I TOO LEFT OUT THE MACE AND IT WAS FINE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wimberley, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
Yum! I served this for Christmas dinner with baked ham, cornbread dressing, Sesame Green Beans and salad. It was wonderful! I took advice from other's who reviewed this recipe and used 1/2 tsp. nutmeg and 1/2 tsp. cinnamon in place of the mace and shredded the apples (Granny Smiths). I also covered with foil during the first 45 minutes of baking, then uncovered for 15 min. to brown slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
Super!! Would cover with foil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
Very good!! Followed a couple of recommendations from other reviewers (nutmeg and cinnamon instead of mace, and green apples - chopped). Also used an 'apple-crisp' like topping (1/2 cup each: brown sugar, flour, butter, pecans - for 9x13) which really put it over the top!! Several non-sweet potatoes eaters raved and asked for the recipe at my office luncheon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
This was the best sweet potato recipe ever. So easy to make. I left out the mace and added cinnamin. This rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIPITUP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tabernacle, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
This is truly a great recipe! Taste's scrumpiously delicious. The only drawback, was that my family felt the presentation is a little too dark to look as appetizing as it really is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was excellent! I made it just the way the recipe calls with the exception of using pumpkin pie spice in place of mace as I didnt' have any. Even my twin 3 year old boys loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
Great recipe and not sweet and gooey like those marshmallow ones. Will definitely use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2001
I was looking for a simple recipe that my 2yr old would like. I found it !!!! And my husband and I loved it too. Will likely become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2001
This is a delicious recipe. I played with it a bit, because when I hear mace, I think of the stuff you spray in someone's eyes to avoid being mugged. (Hey, I live in New York City.) I used half nutmeg and half cinnamon instead. I also used green apples and grated them first, people liked that better. And the green apples make it a bit tart, while sweet at the same time. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States