Scalloped Sweet Potatoes and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Sliced with mandolin and subbed nutmeg/cinnamon for mace. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny Bowers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
We don't care for the gloppy sweet of canned sweet potatoes and marshmallows, so this simple recipe fits the bill. Some modifications if you choose: use your traditional apple pie seasonings (nutmeg, cinnamon, maybe a dash of cardamom); avoid overcooking the sweet potatoes - they should be just getting to fork tender (otherwise they overcook in the recipe); Use a firm, tart apple (granny smith/jonagold type); for a little texture, sprinkle some toasted chopped walnuts in the layers or on top; finally, free up oven space and use your crock pot (start high and after a couple of hours, check the tenderness of the apples and reduce to low). (Variation on a recipe in Fannie Farmer Cookbook - my version 1979, original copyright back to the early 1900's).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Oh my gosh - these were SO good. The apples are the PERFECT addition to a standard sweet potato dish, and the mace kicks it up as well. Served at Christmas and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was good. It's much healthier than sweet potato casserole, but still pretty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Versailles, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Maybe I'm just not a fan of sweet potatoes, but I'll never make this dish again. Maybe it's my fault because the ingridents listed are very basic which is how I would describe this recipie, just yams & apples, nothing special in my opinion. Now I know, moving on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Awesome. Made with Christine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Birdiebootie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Served them at Thanksgiving and everyone raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gardena, California, USA
Living In: Madison, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
par boil apples first
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Geralyn Madigan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Since I was a little girl I love my sweet potatoes served with lot of brown sugar and butter with marshmallow on top. I tried this recipe for myself and like it so much I made it the first time hosted a Thanksgiving dinner; I’m not going back to marshmallow the apples are where it’s at. Speaking of apples I like to mix Granny Smith and Fuji apple. (I think with a few tweaks this will make a good pie)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Made this for Thanksgiving dinner...my Grandma and Aunties loved it! Will make again, and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Andover, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States