Scalloped Sweet Potatoes and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
I was dissapointed with this dish given all the great reviews. It was a bit soupy and did not get thick as I thought it would. I may try this again but make a few changes. Thanks for the recipe Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
It is so nice to find a dessert thats almost good for you! This was a big hit with my whole family. (I used lots of butter)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
This is so different and delicious!! I will most certainly be using this recipe again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
Wonderful compliment to our smoked pork loin. This dish cooked-up exactly as I'd anticipated. Cooked potatoes a day prior. Sliced red apples w/the 'thin' insert of a handslicer, and they cooked-up nicely; not mushy nor undercooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HIJIMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
This did not turn out well AT ALL! I don't know if I didn't overlap the potatoes enough or what, but all of the butter and brown sugar was at the bottom of the baking dish when this was done cooking. That made the potatoes on the bottom soggy and mushy and the potatoes on the top way too crispy. I love sweet potatoes, but I don't think I'll make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I searched for a recipe to match what my grandmother "used to make" when my dad was a kid, and I think this is it! I highly recommend using mace for this - it's much spicier than a cinnamon/nutmeg combination and really creates the flavor. I parboiled the apple slices in about an inch of water to soften them up a bit since the potatoes were already cooked. My last try resulted in soft potatoes and solid apples, so that did the trick! Thanks, Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
This was very good. The apples are a nice change. I used cinnamon instead of mace. For the final portion of the brown sugar mixture, I added a TBSP of flour for the top. Nuts would have been very good but I didn't have any. Will use this recipe again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
I thought this was easy & delicious. I thought the mace was perfect, but I think I'll use different apples next time, as the grannies I used were a little TOO tart, and didn't get as soft as I would've liked. My 7-yr-old loved the potatos, but not the apples so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
What a nice change from mashed or roasted sweet potatoes. This is elegant enough to serve to dinner guests... expect a lot of "Wow... this is good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancing Queen

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
We had this for Thanksgiving and it was not a big hit - it was just so-so, nothing special and not very flavorful. Plus, it was a lot of work peeling and slicing all the apples in addition to those I did for the apple pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States