Scalloped Sweet Potatoes and Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This was SO yummy. It's a great way to serve yams in a different way. I only used 2 TBSP of brown sugar and used cinnamon b/c I don't like mace. The apples I used (GALA) are already sweet so you don't need to add more sweetness. It was so easy to make. There was nothing left after the potluck. I'm going to make this for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lpcookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Mountain House, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This wasn't bad, but it wasn't particularly good either, and considering the hassle factor I was disappointed. If you do make this, I'd recommend boiling the apples a tad (I put them in the microwave for three minutes) and substituting the mace with cinnamon and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
I personally don't like sweet potatoes but I made this for a family party and everyone loved it. My mom kept asking me for the recipe. My husband even liked it and he doesn't like sweet potatoes either. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Didn't like the mace... really runny, maybe better with cinnamon, nutmeg, and a crubmle topping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I make this dish every year around the holidays and it is a big hit! Even my family members who really don't like sweet potatoes love it! I don't make it with mace either. I use cinnamon and nutmeg with Granny Smith Apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
My family loved this dish. I didn't pre-cook the apples, just peeled and cut them up and added them to the parboiled sweet potato. Melt the butter, add the spices and toss the whole thing together. Bake until the apples are soft. When this is warm, it tastes great on top of vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbutler

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seabrook, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I tried this last week as a side for leftover ham and it was great.The sweet potato wasn't getting done in time so I put them in the microwave a few minutes to hurry them along but that didn't harm them in any way. My husband even liked it so it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
This is a very interesting dish. Could either be a side or a desert. I parboiled my apples like another reviewer did. This was very, very good. Three of us for dinner almost devovered it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeffrey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mosinee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I made this for Thanksgiving, most everyone loved it!! (There were a few die hards that wondered where the marshmallows were) I think it needed a little more butter, something to bring out the flavor of the sweet potato more. Otherwise very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
I used more apples than called for (ginger-gold worked well for me), and I added some shortening, flour and cinnamon to the brown sugar when it came to the topping. I laid it on pretty thick on top and even threw in a few chopped pecans for good measure. Mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahbelum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States