Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I liked this recipe, though I cooked it backwards: I accelerated the sliced pototoes in the 9"x9" pan in the microwave and did the cheese sauce on the stovetop. I reduced the butter a little, and did not use corn flake crumbs. My sauce was not too soupy. I found I could pour off the excess oil from the cheese without much issue. I would try adding some garlic and perhaps some worcestershire sauce to it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
very soupy, looking for a different recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I found it was "runny" and not cheesy enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
i need help! i made 3 batches a he same time, and when i made he cheese sauce, i didnt realize the cheese had burnt, until afer it fnished in the oven. i need o sav this dish somehow, but how? th company potluck is in only 3 moe hours. what do i do?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I tried this recipe and loved it! However, I made a few changes to it and added a tsp of ceyenne pepper for a little kick and left out the sherry. I also added some thinly sliced onions. I love what the cornflakes do for the dish, although my husband wasn't too thrilled with the crunch. I would definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This is a pretty basic dish, and it was easy to make. Instead of cornflake cereal crumbs, we used Italian Bread Crumbs because it was the only thing we had in stock. The bread crumbs didn't really mix well with the potatoes, it just sat on top of it like sand. Also, if I were to make this dish again, I would probably add more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Good recipe; the sherry makes it a nice variation from the typical recipe. I like the suggestion to boil the potatoes first; this saves a lot of baking time, particularly if you use a pressure cooker for 7 minute cooking of the potatoes. As others have pointed out, the sauce is way too thin. I discovered this before I combined the sauce with the potatoes, so it was an easy fix to make a roux and add the hot watery sauce before baking. I also reduced the saturated fat by using a mix of butter and olive oil (50-50) in the sauce, along with 100% olive oil for the roux. My only other minor adjustment was to top with a bread crumb/ground almond mix in place of the cornflakes. The nuts may sound strange, but the result works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Great easy recipe. Like many others I added some american cheese to the mix. Also, added garlic and used plain tortilla chips (crushed of course) instead of corn flakes. The white wine or sherry makes a huge difference. One last addition, I added diced bacon to the mix. All said, the base recipe is awesome and makes it easy to add and tweak to your interests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Cheese sauce in a microwave??? Way too soupy (probably because there is no flour for the roux). Also needs onion to be true scalloped potatoes. Pre- cooking the potatoes made the whole thing way too mushy for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Really good scalloped potatoes recipe! The entire family enjoyed this, there were no leftovers. I did make a couple minor modifications. I only used 3/4 of a cup of butter, because that was all I had. Instead of using cornflakes I used panko bread crumbs and I mixed parmesan and shredded mozzarella in with the breadcrumbs. Lastly, I added aprox 2 cups of chopped smoked ham steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States