Scalloped Potatoes with Ham and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Very good flavor and texture. I cut the recipe in half and shorten the cooking time by a half hour. We enjoyed this dish a great deal. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Delicious! My son loved this! A lot of flavor for just the few ingredients used. will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
The only thing I did different is instead of cubing the ham I put it thru the food processor. You get ham in every bite and it seems to flavor the potatoes even better. I tried it both ways but processing the ham is the best way. I also do the ham this way for ham and bean soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
OMG This was great. I did triple the milk and flour and used 10- 12 potatoes. I did need to cook the whole two hours plus I left it in the oven with the heat turned off. It will be great for Christmas tomorrow. :)))))))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I didn't use the Bacon, used a smaller batch as well but all turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This recipe has a lot of promise but 2 tablespoons of salt and 2 tablespoons of pepper is a lot of spice for 10 potatoes. Also, as another mentioned, there is no way you can cook this for 2 hours and use only 2/3 cup of liquid with a thickener. My first attempt at this recipe was far too salty for us to enjoy but we used milk to reheat the next day and that helped make it more edible. I also used 4 - 4-1/2 cups milk with appropriate amount of flour. So anyhow, next time I will use only 2 teaspoons of salt, 1/2 pepper and more milk with less flour. I may try parboiling the potatoes to quicken the cooking time as well. It's a great recipe otherwise. The flavor was fantastic once we got past the salt. The simplicity was appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I left out the bacon, cut the cheese to 8 oz, doubled the milk and flour. Also cut the salt to 1 tsp and the pepper to 1/4 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I ended up with a dry and undercooked dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States