Scalloped Potatoes 'n' Franks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I found this to be a tad on the dry side, too salty, & would skip the cheese completely next time, making them a true scalloped potato, rather than "au gratins". IMO, this would be better w/smoked sausages....hot dogs & au gratins together make a strange taste combo...again, my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Reminds me of childhood! Mom used to make something very similar when we were growing up. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I'm not a big fan of hot dogs anymore but my Dad, who I take care of, loves them. So I make this to satisfy both our tastes. With both of us being diabetic (him severely) this is not a dish I make often due to the amount of carbs but it's great for a once in a while comfort dinner paired with a salad. Making it tonight actually using sharp cheddar and mozzarella cheese with all beef hot dogs. I always add garlic when cooking the onion and a dash of Worcestershire to the sauce to kick it up a bit. I have also added peas in to add to our veggie intake. Thanks for sharing the recipe. A keeper in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kymberlie2873

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
My family and I really liked this. It was a different way to have hot dogs for a change. It was easy to make, it did take a long time to bake that I didnt plan properly so dinner was late tonite, but, I was thrilled to find this recipe. I followed it completely, except I used deli sliced baby swiss ((my husbands only swiss like) and I didnt have parsley. We will keep this recipe and use again. I will also use it to bring to church functions we have 1x a month.. Relatively inexpensive to make large portions of. thanks for sharing! totally kid friendly!!! oh yes, I did use a gluten free flour that I like, Im gluten free these days so Im always hunting down recipes that can be done gluten free! This worked out very well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Love this recipe! So easy and all you need is the basics that you probably have in your pantry. I made this without the franks as a side dish with meatloaf , big hit with the family! I will be trying it with franks for a main course, bye bye box mix!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Very good and certainly family friendly. I made paper thin slices of potato and replaced the hotdogs with blocks of ham to make it a bit more presentable for Thanksgiving. I also added parsley over the top to make is more festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
not my type of cuisine, but sure was able to use up my hot dogs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Very good and very easy! I used cheddar instead of Swiss and keilbasa instead of regular franks. Great Sunday night football comfort food meal! Only criticism is that it seemed a little salty. I'll cut the salt in half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
This was a good, budget friendly meal. It's not something I would make often but it's a good way to use things I always have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I was a bit hesitant but I was convinced by all the rave reviews. I'm so glad I did! It was absolutely delicious. Wonderful comfort food. I followed the directions exactly except for the cheese. I used what I had on hand which was half provolone and half pepper jack. Thank you Sandra for sharing! I'm not a fan of hot dogs (used this recipe to use some that I had in the fridge) so next time I'll definitely use kielbasa but there will definitely be a next time. Oh one more thing. I used 5 med potatoes and my 2.2quart glass pan was SUPER full. I put it on a cookie sheet just in case and a bit of the cheese did bubble over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States