Scalloped Potatoes 'n' Franks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I found this to be a tad on the dry side, too salty, & would skip the cheese completely next time, making them a true scalloped potato, rather than "au gratins". IMO, this would be better w/smoked sausages....hot dogs & au gratins together make a strange taste combo...again, my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Reminds me of childhood! Mom used to make something very similar when we were growing up. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I'm not a big fan of hot dogs anymore but my Dad, who I take care of, loves them. So I make this to satisfy both our tastes. With both of us being diabetic (him severely) this is not a dish I make often due to the amount of carbs but it's great for a once in a while comfort dinner paired with a salad. Making it tonight actually using sharp cheddar and mozzarella cheese with all beef hot dogs. I always add garlic when cooking the onion and a dash of Worcestershire to the sauce to kick it up a bit. I have also added peas in to add to our veggie intake. Thanks for sharing the recipe. A keeper in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kymberlie2873

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
My family and I really liked this. It was a different way to have hot dogs for a change. It was easy to make, it did take a long time to bake that I didnt plan properly so dinner was late tonite, but, I was thrilled to find this recipe. I followed it completely, except I used deli sliced baby swiss ((my husbands only swiss like) and I didnt have parsley. We will keep this recipe and use again. I will also use it to bring to church functions we have 1x a month.. Relatively inexpensive to make large portions of. thanks for sharing! totally kid friendly!!! oh yes, I did use a gluten free flour that I like, Im gluten free these days so Im always hunting down recipes that can be done gluten free! This worked out very well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Breitfeld

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Love this recipe! So easy and all you need is the basics that you probably have in your pantry. I made this without the franks as a side dish with meatloaf , big hit with the family! I will be trying it with franks for a main course, bye bye box mix!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Very good and certainly family friendly. I made paper thin slices of potato and replaced the hotdogs with blocks of ham to make it a bit more presentable for Thanksgiving. I also added parsley over the top to make is more festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
not my type of cuisine, but sure was able to use up my hot dogs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Very good and very easy! I used cheddar instead of Swiss and keilbasa instead of regular franks. Great Sunday night football comfort food meal! Only criticism is that it seemed a little salty. I'll cut the salt in half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
This was a good, budget friendly meal. It's not something I would make often but it's a good way to use things I always have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I was a bit hesitant but I was convinced by all the rave reviews. I'm so glad I did! It was absolutely delicious. Wonderful comfort food. I followed the directions exactly except for the cheese. I used what I had on hand which was half provolone and half pepper jack. Thank you Sandra for sharing! I'm not a fan of hot dogs (used this recipe to use some that I had in the fridge) so next time I'll definitely use kielbasa but there will definitely be a next time. Oh one more thing. I used 5 med potatoes and my 2.2quart glass pan was SUPER full. I put it on a cookie sheet just in case and a bit of the cheese did bubble over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States