Scalloped Potatoes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This recipe turned out creamy and tasty. It didn't specify the amount of salt and mine turned out a little flat. We ended up adding some at the table. Next time I'll add a little onion or garlic but that's it. Good recipe! Glenna M
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Exactly what I grew up with, with the exception of a light sprinkle of paprika/salt/pepper with each layer, versus seasoning slices in the beginning. Perfect side dish that is mild, yet still tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I made these last night to go with our smoked pork chops. I probably shouldn't actually "review" the recipe as I made modifications based on what others said but I did use it as a base recipe as I have never made scalloped potatoes from scratch. Like others, I made a roux with 1/4 cup of butter (putting in one small chopped onion until translucent.) 1/4 cup flour with some garlic powder, onion powder and the salt and pepper. For the liquid, I used 3/4 cup chicken stock and about 3 cups of milk and let that all thicken. I then layered the potatoes and poured the sauce on the first layer adding a sprinkling of parmesan (the green can kind) and continued until done. I baked them at 425 for 15 minutes and then reduced the heat to 375 and baked for 45 more minutes. The potatoes were done and the top was somewhat browned and bubbly but next time, I will put them under the broiler for a minute or two to really brown them up. My family likes them a bit more "crusty" on top. They WERE good and my family did say they liked them a lot! I gave the four stars because I made the changes and the fact that I would have liked them more crusty on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yiayia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Perfect! Just like my mom used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
My mom made this with chopped celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
These are the scalloped potatoes I grew up with. The exception being the addition of sliced onion added to each layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I layered in a sliced onion and pre-mixed the flour with the milk as suggested by some of the other reviews. It's a nice easily prepared recipe. I'll make it again. Thanks, BUCHKO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
A good, adaptable recipe that allows for seasoning to taste and uses basic pantry ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States