Scalloped Potatoes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
this is almost exactly how my boyfriend's mother makes them, she just doesnt measure the ingredients out, and she adds pepper with the salt in the layers. A very easy and very yummy hearty side dish. The ONLY thing I would probably do different is to add a little chopped onion and/or garlic to the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Outstanding, a taste of home. Great with a pound of cooked ham diced tiny, sprinkle a handful on each layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
This is the "real deal", almost identical to the recipe given to me years ago by an Irish lady. (And the Irish really know their 'taters!). I partially peel the potatoes, but leave some skin on - we all need our fiber. And I slice the potatoes very thin using a mandolin - but patience with a sharp knife worked well before I bought this gadget. My family loves this and it is easy to modify for my gluten sensitive grand-daughter - I just make it with her special flour. Because my family likes it with cheese, I generally add shredded cheese with each layer, and you can spice it up or down according to the tastes of the people you are feeding. Garlic powder and perhaps a little chili powder for adults, plain for kids. Add this to your recipe box for a treat for 2 people or 100 - you'll get great reviews every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ocean Grove, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
WOW, !!! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.!! I loved it.. reminds me so much of the scalloped potatoes my mom used to make. I followed your recipe to the "T" and did not change a single thing - absolutely delicious !! :o) thanks again for sharing !!! Now some of my friends and family are asking me for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stevecooks129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
What a Great and Easy Recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I chose to do this recipe as I had tons of potatoes and a lot of milk to use up. Not too bad considering how few ingredients it uses. I used garlic salt instead of normal salt otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. I like how it doesn't feel greasy or fatty as other scalloped potatoes taste like. I will definitely be keeping this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
VERY TASTY...made it for Easter dinner, my family loved it. I added just a little cheese to the sauce and sprinkled some on top. And we didn't have mayo, so I used 2 Tbs. of plain yogurt...it worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K. Hopson

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Fantastic recipe! Great flavor and not a lot of work. My family loved them. I made a smaller amount but used all the ingredients. Goes very well with ham. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Made these potatoes for Easter dinner and they were a big hit! I did use the modifications that 072705r mentioned in that review though. I like a little more flavor in my potatoes and those ingredients appealed to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Yep. They were scrumptious. I only added season salt and dried minced onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States