Scalloped Potatoes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Hi - This is exactly like my mother's recipe - I made it and used a mandolin to get the potato slices very thin and uniform - also my mother always added breakfast sausages (maple flavor) 12 oz package, you cut each sausage into 3 pieces and add them to each layer - if you have some shredded cheddar cheese hanging out in your freezer this is a great addition in the layers and on top. this makes a great side or whole comfort meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Perfect potatoes! Thanks for the prior reviews - I made a roux and that worked out great. I used yukon golds thinly sliced. Definitely will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
So, so easy to make and delicious. I added onions and used Lactose free milk. I did have to cook the dish at 425 degrees for 15 minutes, not 5 minutes, before turning the oven down to 375 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I have never made scalloped potatos but this turned out more like potato soup! It had good flavor but wayyyy to soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I have to admit that I hate when people rate a recipe that they've adjusted the first time they make it, but I'm doing it anyway. I made these potatoes tonight following the adjustments suggested by Melyssa Evans (minus parmesan, only because I didn't have it). The dish was awesome with the revisions, and having attempted scalloped potatoes in the past, I think the original was a good base, but I would have needed extra spice. The proportions, though, are what matters, as they are an excellent base and could probably take on any of your favorite potato fixings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I was yearning for good old-fashioned scalloped (and NOT AU GRATIN) potatoes so I halved the recipe to make for DH and myself. As did many reviewers before me, I made a roux white sauce instead of pouring the milk on top last. I also used olive oil instead of butter and added garlic and onion powder, dry mustard, pepper, and freshly grated parmesan to the sauce. The dish was excellent with just the right consistency and no canned soup taste. I'm a potato lover, and this recipe lets you taste and enjoy the texture of the potatoes. I highly recommend you slice the potatoes with a mandolin or food processor, as very thin and uniformly thick slices of potatoes work best. This recipe has the perfect proportions of potato, flour and liquid and you can season it to make it your own. Thanks, Buchko, for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeBeeN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Excellent as-is, but really good as a base recipe. Slices Yukon Golds with my mandolin slicer, very thin and used half heavy cream and half 2% milk. I was surprised how buttery and flavorful this turned out. The top pieces were nice and crispy. Next time, I'll add thinly slices garlic, just 2% milk and perhaps some cheese. Would be great with chives sprinkled on top as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HipChickDigs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Just like Grandma's. I sliced & boiled my potatoes for a few min because I started dinner too late. Because the potatoes were then partially cooked, I followed the baking instructions(temps) but reduced the final bake to 30 min. Absolutely PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
REALLY good!! Next time though I might make the roux to make the sauce a little creamier and more consistant. Only thing I did differently was that I used pepper and garlic butter rather than just plain butter. Was a hit in my house, will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bawlf, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Provost, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I just added some pepper, I don't use salt. I have made these several times and always get good reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States