Scalloped Potatoes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
this is almost exactly how my boyfriend's mother makes them, she just doesnt measure the ingredients out, and she adds pepper with the salt in the layers. A very easy and very yummy hearty side dish. The ONLY thing I would probably do different is to add a little chopped onion and/or garlic to the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Outstanding, a taste of home. Great with a pound of cooked ham diced tiny, sprinkle a handful on each layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
This is the "real deal", almost identical to the recipe given to me years ago by an Irish lady. (And the Irish really know their 'taters!). I partially peel the potatoes, but leave some skin on - we all need our fiber. And I slice the potatoes very thin using a mandolin - but patience with a sharp knife worked well before I bought this gadget. My family loves this and it is easy to modify for my gluten sensitive grand-daughter - I just make it with her special flour. Because my family likes it with cheese, I generally add shredded cheese with each layer, and you can spice it up or down according to the tastes of the people you are feeding. Garlic powder and perhaps a little chili powder for adults, plain for kids. Add this to your recipe box for a treat for 2 people or 100 - you'll get great reviews every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ocean Grove, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
WOW, !!! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.!! I loved it.. reminds me so much of the scalloped potatoes my mom used to make. I followed your recipe to the "T" and did not change a single thing - absolutely delicious !! :o) thanks again for sharing !!! Now some of my friends and family are asking me for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stevecooks129

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
What a Great and Easy Recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I chose to do this recipe as I had tons of potatoes and a lot of milk to use up. Not too bad considering how few ingredients it uses. I used garlic salt instead of normal salt otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. I like how it doesn't feel greasy or fatty as other scalloped potatoes taste like. I will definitely be keeping this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
VERY TASTY...made it for Easter dinner, my family loved it. I added just a little cheese to the sauce and sprinkled some on top. And we didn't have mayo, so I used 2 Tbs. of plain yogurt...it worked out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K. Hopson

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Fantastic recipe! Great flavor and not a lot of work. My family loved them. I made a smaller amount but used all the ingredients. Goes very well with ham. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Made these potatoes for Easter dinner and they were a big hit! I did use the modifications that 072705r mentioned in that review though. I like a little more flavor in my potatoes and those ingredients appealed to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Yep. They were scrumptious. I only added season salt and dried minced onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States