Scalloped Potatoes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2015
I like this recipe because my hubby watches his cheese intake. This tastes like the original that Grammy made! I sprinkle chopped green onions and Montreal steak seasoning with each layer and then mixed some Dijon mustard with milk. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThomaSabine Oyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Add some thinly sliced onions and grated sharp cheddar cheese to each layer - delicious. This is how my mother made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Used 6 potatoes. Made rue using 5T butter to 5T flour, 2 1/4C half and half/milk, 1/4 parm chz, 1t onion pwdr, garlic pwdr, salt, & paprika, then added 1/2t pepper, dry mustard, chicken bouilon pwdr, pinch cayenne, 1T cream chz. Good, but needed more rue as final product was dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Made this in a hurry and cut it by 1 /2. Used heavy cream....boy they were amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
we've always added along with layers of potatoes, flour and cheddar cheese some sliced onions - DELICIOUS cooked this way for well over 80 years or more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Hamilton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
I have always made scalloped potatoes this way. First time I've seen a recipe printed the way it should be made---Not making a "roux" of the flour! I do add chopped onion and some slices of velveeta cheese. And if you want to make complete meal add some diced ham and lima beans to the layers. THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Kingman, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
For all you people that made a roux, what's the point,do you all have dishwashers? This is how my Granny made her's for over 70 years, always creamy & loved by her over 500 descendants. It is a basic recipe that is part of our Irish background and Sundays at the farm the dishalways made it to the table. As to the layer method, Emeril Lagasse once used it on the show he had with a live audience. I remember, I thought it silly that a chef acted as if this was out of the ordinary. Also worth noting they DID NOT get the "Bamm' spice hit he was so famous for on that show. So save the roux for Welsh Rarebit, Creamed Salmon/Peas or just your basic White Sauce. Keep in mind some dishes are meant to be simple (bland), it's usually so to compliment a more flavorful main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
This is exactly what I was looking for! It is the perfect base recipe for adding ham or seasoning to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
I always layer potatoes & onions sprinkling salt & pepper over each layer. I also heat the milk, flour & butter mixture till thick & creamy. Pour over potatoes & add more milk to cover potatoes. Cook through & sprinkle cheese over top & cook till melted & bubbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I've made this recipe several times -- these scalloped potatoes are excellent!! The only change I made was to add some chopped onions because I wanted a little additional flavor; otherwise, I made the recipe as stated. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Mom's Scalloped Potatoes

Perfectly creamy scalloped potatoes, just like Mom would make.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States