Scalloped Potatoes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
I made this in an 8x8 square pan, which I think is the perfect size. It only made 2 layers. Would be perfect to serve 4 people...but you could probably squeeze out 6 servings. Delicious! So Easy, too. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Carr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I hadn't made scalloped potatoes in quite some time and this recipe seemed to me to be the easiest way to get back into it. I added about 1/4 cup sour cream and used fat free half and half to thin the mix because it seemed to thick to "pour". Added salt and pepper, too. They came out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I modified this and it was so good I had some for dessert - I know, that sounds strange! I'm not much for sweets and this was so good I had a second helping! I changed it somewhat. I used about 6 cups of thinly sliced potatoes, a large onion sliced very thin, a can of cream of cheddar cheese soup, a can of cream of chicken soup, about 3/4 cup of milk, 1 1/2 C. shredded cheddar cheese. I used a big mixing bowl and put everything in it and mixed it up till all the potatoes and onions were coated and the soups were well mixed. I layered 1/2 of the mixture in a 13x9 glass baking dish that had been sprayed with cooking spray. I sprinkled on about 1 1/2 C. diced leftover ham (from Easter dinner) then the rest of the potatoes on top. Smoothed it out and baked at 350 degrees for about an hour and 15 min. (check occasionally to see if it's done). It was out of this world and I usually don't like the taste of canned soup in recipes but this was really good. I bet using sour cream instead of milk would have been great too - I'll try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DinnerDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Added can of mushroom soup, and half a cup of whipping cream. Rated 4 stars without my additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
The soup made these potatoes taste sweet and they had too strong an onion taste for me. I won't be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I added more onions and more potatoes but still quick and delicious. The cheese soup was an added bonus for our cheese loving selves. I see others used sour cream and milk. Will have to try it that way next time but this hit the spot just the way it was!-Trudy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I followed the recipe to a T. These were the most incredible scalloped potatoes I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This was great! Never again will I bother with the pain-in-the-butt homemade cheese sauce. As other reviewers suggested, I did add milk and sour cream, and threw some shredded cheddar into the mix. Also added more cheese to the top. My potatoes were thin, but still took longer to cook - proabably my oven. Thank you Maryanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
SO GOOD! My kids ate it up! Definitely will make again with more cheese! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States