Scalloped Potatoes and Hamburger Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Ok. Pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This a great basic recipie. If you switch out one cream of soup for the mushroom because that is what you have it's no big deal. This is also a fun recipie to "jazz up" if you want. Season up the meat a bit more (added garlic powder, dried minced onion, and one half of a fresh lemons juice), and/or add cheese or different spices (I dusted each layer with Lawreys seasoned salt and dried parsley) inbetween the layers. Add a second cheese to blend with the suggested one on the last top layer...whatever. (FYI. I used sharp chedder through out and then sharp with left over feta on top). Point is, the recipe given easy and good even if you don't mess with it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D&D'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Great outline recipe. I did this quite different than specified: I cooked 1 lb hamburger, 1 chopped onion, and 2 small cloves of minced garlic. I seasoned it while cooking with some black pepper, sea salt, cumin, chili powder, oregano, parsley, cheyenne pepper, and red pepper flakes. I did it to my taste, so it was about a pinch each, if I had to guess-timate. Also added a splash of Worcestershire. I cooked until the onions were tender, semi-translucent on medium-high heat. I then turned the heat off, added the potatoes (used 4 medium ones, not the 6 specified, peeled and sliced not-to-thin, not-to-thick) and added them to the pan (dutch oven) and added 1/4 cup of heavy cream and 2/4 cup of water (to a grand total of 3/4 cup of liquid) and stirred it together, turned the heat back on, brought to a slight boil, put the lid on, and cooked on low heat for about 20-25 mins, then uncovered and let cook until the water had evaporated. Delish! Very easy and I typically have these ingredients on hand. The people complaining about the blandness need to know how to season their meat to what they like. The garlic is essential. One could have also done this as I specified using a beef bullion cube or 2 along with the garlic and onions, then added the cream/water or whatever you wanted to use. We ate it with a slice of American cheese melted over it and stirred in. Reminded me of Shepard's pie without the corn (the Shepard's pie I know anyway...) Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by celerygeneral

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Not so good. Lacked flavor - that's my biggest "issue". I sprinkled a little cheese on top, but it should be "standard" with this recipe. It could have used more onions and meat, too. Just not liking this. Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim AndJoelle Haseley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This is super yummy. I did have to bake it TWO HOURS longer than what the recipe said but it was soooo good once it was done. The next time I will make it, I'll start a little earlier :) I also added canned green beans to it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Was very easy to make. Mine was a little dry, added velveeta cheese to the left overs and that took care of the problem. Family liked it better with the cheese anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I wasn't a huge fan. I might try again in the future with some variations though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I didn't care for this recipe. My son who eats anything took two bites and said he was done. Hubby loved it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Great idea but I'd nix the canned mushroom soup, and saute the onions with the ground meat for more flavor. I actually made this as a stove-top by adding flour to the hamburger meat while frying, but it would be easy to make a gravy and put it all together for the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
A really recipe to play with. I used a can of corn instead of the green pepper (its what I had on hand), I cooked the onion with the gr beef, added soy sauce and garlic powder. I also used 2 boxes of scalloped potatoes (its what I had in the pantry). I used the can of mushroom soup and milk, and also mixed cheddar cheese in to bake. YUM!!! Thanks Doris for a fun one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wentzville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States