Scalloped Pineapple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
not good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
A staple for years!! We only use half the butter and sugar and it's still a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I've tried this recipe with many different loaves of bread. First, a french loaf, then a loaf of Wonder and lastly Kings Hawaiian. The recipe using the Kings Hawaiian Bread came out perfect. The sweetness of the bread complements the recipe perfectly and the bread is also dense enough to absorb the juice from the pineapple and thick enough for cubing. This recipe has become a staple at our Thanksgiving table year after year. We omit the salt and pepper, when served with ham there's plenty of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This is the dish my gramma would make for families that were suffering a loss and dealing with funeral issues. Wonderful comfort food. Only diff in recipe is about 3/4c. brown sugar instead of white, 1 stick butter (really should be butter not margarine for ultimate flavor), and no seasonings. We melt butter in bottom of dish, mix everything else, and pour over the butter. Because of it's richness and my lack of self-control, this is a rare treat when it's not for social functions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
The sugar and butter both seemed excessive so I cut them in half. This recipe was VERY good. Even guests that didn't think they liked pineapple enjoyed it. Will make every Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I reduced my butter and sugar amounts as others have suggested. However, I still found it to be too sweet and soggy. I don't think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This did not turn out for me. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
I made this for a friend of mine and we both LOVED it!! Very sweet and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
It's a wonderful recipe! I only use 1/2 cup butter and 1 cup sugar and feel that the salt, pepper and spices are optional. (The mixture that is to be poured over the bread cubes will look curdled. Not to worry!) It is a great sidedish with ham or turkey and can also be used as a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
Do NOT use all of the butter or sugar called for in this recipe. I did not read the reviews ahead of time, and after my casserole came out too greasy and way too sweet, I decided to see what others had said. I would use only 1/2 stick of butter and 1 cup sugar. I could hardly taste the pineapple, which should have been the best part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIMARIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portage, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nagoya, Aichi, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

How to Make Scalloped Oysters

See how to make a creamy, decadent oyster side dish for special occasions.

Three-Cheese Garlic Scalloped Potatoes

See how to make cheesy, cheesy oh-so-cheesy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States