Scalloped Pineapple Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
My family loved this recipe! ! I used pinapple tidbits, sooooo good no matter what pinapple you use ( ive used them all). I did cut the sugar in half (preference). But Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This is so good, and very easy to make! I added some baking chocolate on top after taking it out of the oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqulyn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I make this recipe all the time and absolutely love it. I don't sprinkle the powdered sugar over the top, but other than that, I make this recipe exactly as originally written. If there is any left over, it actually even freezes well, so I freeze in single-size servings and it's perfect to have on hand for the times you bring home a doggie bag from a restaurant, but it's not quite enough to fill you up--add your single serving of this pineapple dish and you then have a wonderful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I love this dish, and serve it to my B&B guests for breakfast. However, after baking it the original way many times, I have found you can do the following with equally good results and not so many calories: replace 1 C butter with 1/4 C butter and 3/4 C low fat buttermilk; I use plain almond milk (no sugar) for the milk, and use 1 C sugar rather than 2 cups. With these changes you've eliminated >500 calories by replacing the butter and 775 calories by eliminating a cup of sugar. The dish is still sweet and you don't have to feel so guilty about eating it. Oh, I did increase the bread by 3-4 slices to soak up the extra buttermilk. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
very easy and very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Made it for Christmas dinner. It was very sweet. Had a nice flavor, but was more like a dessert than a side dish with ham. My family didn't really care for it. I probably won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Making the recipe "as is" I gave this dish 4 stars. To make it 5 stars, I made the following changes: 1.) I used about 1/2 loaf of Italian bread. The "crust" pieces are really delish. I took the dish I was going to bake this in & then tore pieces to kinda fill the pan. If you don't have enough bread it can be too "wet". 2.) Use 4 eggs 3.) Add 1 Tbls vanilla 4.) Only use 3/4 cup sugar, it will be plenty sweet. 5.) Use 20 oz. can CRUSHED Pineapple, untrained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meishley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I used Italian bread for this recipe and it was fantastic!! My mom said it was even better than what my Great-grandmother made and that was pretty great!! I made it for Thanksgiving and I am making it for Christmas dinner too!! My husband loved it!! Toasting the bread makes a big difference, it keeps the casserole from being soggy!! Soooo Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
This recipe is great. Had it with grilled ham steaks and it was the perfect side. will definitely make often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
My husband and I did not like this at all, everything about it was totally unappealing from the way it looked, smelled, tasted and even the texture. Obviously the other reviewers enjoyed it so I guess there are some people out there who like this sort of thing. Not us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States