Scalloped Oysters I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
Scalloped oysters is one of the "must-haves" on my husband's Thanksgiving menu. I've tried making them before without much success. This time I scored a huge hit! He told me to make sure I hang onto this recipe. The 2 things I did a little differently: I used half & half in place of milk. And Ritz Garlic Butter crackers instead of plain Ritz. Excellent, simple recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
I used this recipe at Thanksgiving....It was a great success! The only change I made was to use half and half in place of milk. I found I didn't have to use more than 1/2 cup and felt it made the recipe "richer".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
All I can say is WOW! This was so delicious. I used exactly the amount of ritz and bread crumbs specified and only 3/4 one stick of butter instead of a whole stick and it was still plenty buttery. I also used clam juice (with a little more than the recipe called for since a few people said it was dry in their reviews) because we had steamed oysters the night before and I didn't have any oyster juice left. I also cooked it at 400 instead of 450 and it was Perfect at thirty minutes. We are thinking about adding sauteed onions next time for more texture. Try this, you won't be disappointed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
I have found ritz crackers work the best and baking at 450 is way to high. 375 works just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
The BEST ever!!! I did saute an onion in the butter before I added it to the crackers and crumbs. I will use this recipe many, many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Delicious. I sauteed 2 stalks finely chopped celery and 2 scallions and dusted each layer with bread crumbs instead of adding to the Ritz crackers and butter mixture. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
My mother made this every year for Christmas as I was growing up, and this year I wanted to make this dish for me - to make my Christmas a little more meaningful! This dish turned out great. I sized it for 2, since it was only my husband and I sharing this... Thank you so much for sharing this and making my Christmas so special this year. There were no alterations - and made it exactly as given.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Great recipe!!! Since I like a little more flavor, I sauteed 1/2 an onion in 1/8 of butter and then mixed it with the breadcrumbs. I also mixed in 2 tsp of Old Bay and 10 dashes of tabasco sauce. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
The reviews on this recipe were the reason why I decided to try it and I was quite dissappointed. The whole thing ended up a squishy mess. If you like your oysters firm, don't try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Merville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
We love having oyster roasts and this is a great way to use up any leftover oysters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scalloped Oysters

See how to make a creamy, decadent oyster side dish for special occasions.

Rockin' Oysters Rockefeller

See how to put a cheesy twist on traditional Oysters Rockefeller.

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States