Scalloped Oysters I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This is a hit at our house. I used 1 cup of home-made italian bread crumbs on the coarse side and used 2 cans of oysters since I had them on hand already. My husband ate so much of this that I was scared he was going to get sick. He wants me to serve it for Thanksgiving this year too. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1SassyMassey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
It was eatable but definetly not anything special. I used canned oysters, so that may not have helped. Way too rich for me as well, I felt sick after a few bites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Very good, very easy. My guest loved this dish, especially the men who already loved oysters. Try to find the smaller oysters as they are easier to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
My mother made this every year for Christmas as I was growing up, and this year I wanted to make this dish for me - to make my Christmas a little more meaningful! This dish turned out great. I sized it for 2, since it was only my husband and I sharing this... Thank you so much for sharing this and making my Christmas so special this year. There were no alterations - and made it exactly as given.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
The reviews on this recipe were the reason why I decided to try it and I was quite dissappointed. The whole thing ended up a squishy mess. If you like your oysters firm, don't try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Merville, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
Scalloped oysters is one of the "must-haves" on my husband's Thanksgiving menu. I've tried making them before without much success. This time I scored a huge hit! He told me to make sure I hang onto this recipe. The 2 things I did a little differently: I used half & half in place of milk. And Ritz Garlic Butter crackers instead of plain Ritz. Excellent, simple recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
This is awesome. It couldn't be easier and it couldn't be better. Make this for your next dinner party for RAVE REVIEWS. Thanks Debbie for sharing this great find!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
My husband absolutely LOVED this dish! He said it was the best way he's ever had oysters and I'm sure he will be asking for it frequently. He took some to work the following day and shared it with his coworkers who begged for the recipe! I personally can't stand oysters so I haven't tried it, but I love my husband and will definitely make it for him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
A+++ This was the easiest and tastiest recipe for scalloped oysters I have ever had!!!!! I will be sure to triple the recipe next time! It was gone so quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsville, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
I have found ritz crackers work the best and baking at 450 is way to high. 375 works just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scalloped Oysters

See how to make a creamy, decadent oyster side dish for special occasions.

Rockin' Oysters Rockefeller

See how to put a cheesy twist on traditional Oysters Rockefeller.

Scalloped Potatoes II

See how to make creamy, incredibly tender scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States