Scalloped Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I make this recipe, omitting the sugar, doubling everything but the butter (don't drain the corn), adding some grated or diced onion, and putting in the crockpot on high for abt 4 hrs. Stir it a couple of times. Time will depend on the crockpot that you have because some definitely cook hotter than others. I am not a big fan of this but my kids love it and always request it for holiday get-togethers. Using the crockpot leaves oven space for other things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Great recipe. Left out sugar like others recommended, added cheese. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
AWESOME recipe! Tried it for the 1st time and it went over great! Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Was expecting a better flavor. It was just OK. I followed the recipe except I used a can of hominy in place of the corn because that's what I had on hand. Perhaps this changed the flavor. Will try it again, no hominy and add some green chilies and grated cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I honestly thought this needed more sugar. Granted, I used a different brand of corn muffin mix (not Jiffy), but I am adding sugar on top when I eat it. Also, I am kind of a sugar-aholic. And I kinda wanted this to taste more like a corn pudding. But yeah, good texture - I drained half the water out of the can of whole corn, but next time I would leave it completely undrained.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Very good! Simple to make. For the vegan version I used vegan sour cream, olive oil butter, and was real good. I also used fresh corn on the cob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I have been making this recipe for years and everytime I take it somewhere the recipe is requested. It is very good as written but sometimes I like to make the Cheesy Scalloped Corn version. Simply stir in 1 cup of shredded Cheddar just before pouring into prepared dish and then top with other cup of shredded Cheddar. Increase baking time to 45 minutes. Good comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RICHKAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This dish is excellent as written and yes, add the sugar. Made it for a lot of family dinners and always get rave compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aliceandtrixie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredonia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. I used to fix this a lot but had forgotten about it. Thanks for the reminder. It is good!!! Marilyn Schmalz
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Very solid recipe. Fool proof if followed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilchefdeebo

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sebewaing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Honor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 320) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States