Scalloped Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Excellent recipe, and so simple to make. The only changes I made was to melt my butter. I also added about 1/2 -3/4 cup of diced green peppers. I let them cook slowly in the butter until slightly softened. I then added them to my mixture. This recipe came out beautifully. My sister said it was better than my grandmother's, and that was truely a compliment. I will definitely make this for Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa T.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Perfect side dish for any get together. I typically do NOT drain the can corn. I think it makes for a more moist dish. I have also cut the butter and substituted apple sauce for as much as 2/3 of the amount of butter. You could probably cut the butter altogether if your really worried about calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Such a simple a dish and everyone's favorite. Made this dozens of times after spotting it as a Thanksgiving recipe...and it's requested every occasion. This recipe however, does NOT require sugar and was Not an ingredient on the Thanksgiving recipe called "Corn Bake." I prefer to use frozen corn in place of canned whole corn, (always trying to cut back on salt) or in a pinch will use the low salt canned corn. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Good basic recipe, but nothing spectacular about it. Made it according to the recipe, minus the added sugar as many suggested. Used entire can of creamed corn - didn't drain as some were asking about. Used full fat sour cream, and a Jiffy corn muffin mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FROGHOPPER
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This is such an amazing recipe! My aunt told me that this was by far the best scalloped corn she'd ever eaten and begged for the recipe! Thank you for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROGHOPPER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I made this as a Thanksgiving side dish today. I was unsure if this was the recipe to make, because my extended family is very picky. This recipe was a great choice by the end of the meal there was only one spoonful left. I received many compliments. Regarding the recipe I did not change any of the ingredients. I did add the liquid from the corn, which made the scalloped corn moist and delicious. I did extend the baking time to 50 minutes. This was a wonderful recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
We have riots in our family if we don't fix this every year for Thanksgiving and Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This was amazing! I have been searching for a recipe similar to the Corn Pudding at PCC Market (Seattle). Great for a Thanksgiving side dish. Thanks Carla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
This is a delicious side dish to accompany nearly any menu. Delicious but not overly-rich. Particularly good during the holidays as a companion to the casseroles that are typically a part of a holiday menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
A DEFINATE KEEPER!! My husband (then boyfriend) used to always compare my cooking to his mother's. Scalloped corn (like many other recipes) was one recipe that I could never duplicate well for him. I'd always get the "It's not bad, but I like Mom's better. Just ask her for her's" B/c of pride, I kept looking until I came across this one. The first time I got the "Whoa, this is good. Even better than Mom's." followed by, "Write this one down!" I do do a few things: I add a bit of shredded cheddar to the mix, prior to baking, and I do drain the regular corn (I don't like mine so wet) We have this dish almost 3-5 times a month for supper b/c we love it so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 332) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States