Scalloped Corn III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Granted, I only used one sleeve (about half) of whole wheat Ritz crackers, but my boyfriend and I just weren't overly impressed. It seemed to be missing something - garlic? Some other spice? Or maybe we just prefer a more sweet corn pudding to scalloped corn...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Well, this didn't suit the tastebuds of members of my family. It was almost like a corn souffle or casserole and lacked something in flavor. IT was a bit mushy, I think the recipe calls for too much milk and didn't have much of a flavor. Unfortunately I don't think I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
this recipe is simple and tasty. if anyone makes the mistake that i did (buying 2 cans of whole kernel corn instead of 1 can and 1 can creamed corn) if you add just a little bit of salt and then 1/4 cup extra milk if still is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Oddly, the crackers fluff up like a dense souffle. Because I am southern and its what we do... I added Velveeta (instead of milk), canned green chilis, half a jalapeño, and topped with a handful of cheddar. Baked until sides of my casserole browned up. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daddy Rhon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Was ok, not like totally freak out awesome like others have posted. I don't think I'll make it again...I just felt like it needed a spice of some sort....hmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lidie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This reminded me of my Grandma! I changed the recipe a little I used 1 tube of wheat Ritz crackers, 3 eggs, ½ cup of ½ & ½, and 4 strips of cooked bacon chopped and no onions. It has a custard consistency you could cut it in squares and it would hold together but defiantly not dry. Family all loved it remained me of when I was a child at family holidays and pot luck dinners at church! For sure a keeper!!! Thanks for the basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This was a well liked dish in this house tonight! I used Italian style bread crumbs in place of Ritz crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Iloved this recipe but I changed all the ingredients. I used potatoes, cream of mushroom soup, no eggs, regular crackers, yellow onions and then baked it at 375 degrees for an hour. It was as good as this recipe. Just kidding. This was great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catty

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I've been making a version of this for years. Double the recipe, omit the milk and use a can of sweetened condensed milk and crushed red pepper to taste. It's excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlett, Illinois, USA
Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
MMMM this was so good...the only reason I gave it a four star was because I made 2 little modifications. First, I cut the crackers in half and then added shredded cheese. I also topped with a sprinkle of shredded cheese the last 10 minutes of baking. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taryn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States