Scalloped Corn I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2001
First time I tried this I used all the butter specified. It was so delicious, but also so greasy I couldn't eat much. Since then, I've at least halved the amount of butter specified and it tastes just as good. Either way, my family (kids included) LOVE it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2000
For years, at Thanksgiving I had always made Scalloped Corn using crackers. This year I still wanted to serve Scalloped Corn, but wanted to 'update' the recipe by making it a bit more exciting. I came across this recipe and thought I'd give it a try. My family LOVED it! It was the hit of our Thanksgiving Dinner. From now on I will use this recipe when making Scalloped Corn. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I found this recipe a few years ago and love it and it is so easy to make!!!! I often double the recipe when I bring it to a family get together, it is a family fav.!! The only thing I do differant is I use 1 can cream corn and 1 can sweet corn (single batch). YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sullivan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Yum! Cut the butter in half & used half the sugar with a Jiffy cornbread mix (which is already sweet). Just like Grandma's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I have made this recipe several times and have made some adjustments. I used 1 can of cream corn & 1 can of yellow corn, used 1/2 cup sour cream, and 1/2 cup of the corn muffin mix, add bacon bits, green onion, 1 cup cheddar cheese, 1/4 cup of the butter, garlic powder, onion powder, Top with bread crumbs & dust with papirika and parsley. It is a hit everytime. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
Great side-dish! I did omit 1 tbsp of the white sugar, and the sweetness was just right. I think it would've been too sweet with the second tbsp. Easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
This was good but changed the recipe a little. Only used 1 Tablespooon of sugar since I used jiffy corn bread mix and it is already sweet. Also tried it once with the butter called for and had a hard time getting it to be done in the middle so tried it again with only 1/3 c. butter. It was much more evenly baked the second time. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
This is awesome! The only thing I changed was to use half the butter, that was plenty. I also used 1 can whole kernel corn and one can cream style. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I typically don't like when people completely change the recipe and then review it, but I'm going to do that here--sorry. I followed the advice of Busy Bee and this recipe turned out amazing. The changes are as follows: 1 can of cream corn 1 can of yellow corn 1/2 cup sour cream 1/2 cup corn muffin mix Bacon bits (I probably used 1/2 cup or so) Green onion (maybe 1/4 cup) 1 cup cheddar cheese 1/4 cup butter 2 eggs (as per original recipe) Garlic powder (a couple tsp probably) Onion powder (same as garlic powder) Also, I omitted the sugar in the recipe. Top with bread crumbs & dust with papirika and parsley. With these changes, the recipe was a huge hit...though I'm sure it was wonderful as written (which is why I still gave it 5 stars). Thank you for sharing a wonderful recipe, and thank you, Busy Bee for the great recommendations!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I tried this variation of creamed corn for my family. I followed the recipe exactly and the flavor was just odd. Everyone in my family agreed, this one was not a keeper. I think it was the sour cream that gave it a strange flavor, or perhaps the corn muffin mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Cream Corn Like No Other

See how to make the tastiest creamed corn of your life. Way better than canned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States