Scalloped Corn and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This was very tasty and so simple. I did add half a chopped red pepper to add some color. A very good side dish to a christmas ham I made. A keeper the whole family enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This was too bland! It needed a lot of help! My children did not like the combination of the sweetness of the corn and the cheese. I think it could have used some onions to give it flavor. I will not try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
A really nice recipe, and very easy. I look forward to trying some variations such different cheeses, and making this more of a gratin by topping it with grated cheese and/or breadcrumbs. A dash of nutmeg might work well with this dish too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I made this as a dish for our Christmas party at work and it turned out fantastic! I can't wait to make it for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Ann
Home Town: Unionville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Reese, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
The only reason I am giving this recipe 4 (and a half stars, if I could) stars instead of 5 is that, at least the way mine turned out, it was a little salty, and I had to reduce the sugar... as others had suggested. Otherwise, it was great. I used fresh broccoli instead of frozen, and sharp cheddar instead of mild, as that is what I had on hand. Next time, I will use 1/2 tsp salt and see how things go, and still only use 1 tbsp of sugar. Otherwise, I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for a quick, easy and yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jking

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Really good and super easy. A great way to get some veggies into my "anti-veggie" 2 year old. I did reduce the sugar amount to 1 tablespoon and I added 1 teaspoon of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I didn't have enough time to cook it in the oven for the hour the recipe called for so I cooked it in the microwave. I would cook it for 5 min. intervals and after 5 min. & 10min. I stirred it. I cooked it for a total of 25 min. It set up nicely, however all my family agreed it was way to sweet. If I make it again I will eliminate the sugar and increase the cheese to 1 cup. Other wise it is a simple dish to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I've been making this recipe for so many years now, but I use soda crackers in my and for the topping. I also use dried onion mixed in and no flour. We usually have this at Thanksgiving and at Easter as side casserole dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Just the idea of using cream style corn with flour and eggs instead of white sauce is great. I left out the sugar and salt, added cooked macaroni and chopped sausages to make the plate bigger, and it was great. I used sharp cheddar inside and on top, we loved it! Wow, the corn, flour, and eggs... amazing! I am definitely stocking up on cream corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Namitan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Ive made this several times now and its a delicious way to serve broccoli & corn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarlaFCRyan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States