Scalloped Corn and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Great base recipe! I followed other's advice and omitted all sugar. I added a can of chicken to make it more of a meal, added pepper, garlic and thyme. Topped with breadcrumbs. Tasty! Next time I'll use even more spices, and maybe a little lemon juice to brighten it up. Will make again, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
creamed corn is already sweet. Adding the 2 tbs of sugar just made this whole dish too unnecessarily sweet. The egg/cream corn/four combo was too weird. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Way too much salt for our liking. If I do make this recipe again I will definitely cut the salt in half or even to 1/4 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
This was wonderful. I made it as written except that I used egg beaters instead of real eggs. I liked it so much that I barely ate the other things I made to go with it at dinner! It turned out softer than I thought it would even after I cooked it longer, but it tasted great! A great recipe to keep and share.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BorzoiBabe

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This dish was okay-nothing exciting. I omitted the sugar- you don't need it, and a whole box of frozen broccoli wasn't too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This is delicious, and so simple and easy to make! Other reviewers suggest reducing or omitting the sugar, and I agree. I used about two teaspoons instead of two tablespoons, and it was bordering on too sweet. I'll cut it down to one teaspoon next time. I used pepperjack cheese, which gave it a nice little kick, and fresh broccoli, which cooked fine from raw without any pre-cooking. I can also see many variations on this recipe - cauliflower or asparagus instead of broccoli, different cheeses, or to make it into more of a main dish, adding some browned sausage, crumbled bacon, ham, kielbasa, or cubed cooked chicken. Two warnings: The recipe says it makes six servings, but I would say, as a side dish, it makes only four modest servings at most. And mine cooked through just fine in 40 minutes in a gratin dish; an hour would have left it pretty dried out, I think. I'm not a fan of creamed corn on its own, but as an ingredient in various dishes, it's a handy thing to keep in the pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Yummy & easy! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Very easy and tasty. Instead of frozen broccoli I used fresh (that's all I had) and it turned out great. I should have let it set for a few minutes before serving. I noticed it was runnier when I served it right away but after I let it sit for a little bit it was "gelled" I also covered it with foil while baking, I didnt want it burn or get crispy. I took the foil off 15min before the end time and it got just enough browning at the end. I will make this for sure again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I made it for a family get together and had no left overs! I decreased the salt since a few people are very sensitive to it but other then that it was great as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kilcher
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I made this and it turned out really well! It was quick and easy to make. Like many of the other commenters I will leave out the sugar completely next time. It was too sweet and left a bit of an aftertaste. Other than that I loved it. My wife and I both thought it reminded us of the sweet corn tomalito from Chevy's. Mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States