Scalloped Cabbage with Ham and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
We enjoyed this recipe a lot. I don't like processed cheese so I used shredded cheddar. The second time I made it I used French's Fried Onions on top while it baked the last 15 minutes. It was better than the bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimless

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
My family loved this recipe. All three of my children ate it all (once I forced the first bite of course). Everyone asked me where I found the recipe it was so perfect as a leftover meal to use of cabbage and ham. I made exactly as the recipe tells you to and I thought it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
I absolutely loved this recipe. A real "comfort" dinner on a cold winters' night. I mixed the sauce into the steamed cabbage and onion, then layered this with the ham and topped with the bread crumbs, sprinkled paprika and parsley over top. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
I just made this and had to come and give it a review. With the changes I made, it is really special. To this I added a can of corn. I also used a mixture of Velveta and cheddar cheeses. When making the sauce in the pan, I only used a bit of milk and threw in a can of Cheddar Cheese Soup. I added a few dashes of nutmeg, cayenne and onion power and black pepper. On top of the breadcrumbs, I did sprinkle paprika and parsley, as taken from another reviewer. Delicious and makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Oh my gosh! Soooo rich! I didn't even like cabbage until I tried this dish. Made it exactly like the recipe, which I don't usually do, and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CN29URSERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
Very good. The only changes I made were substituting Velveta for the American cheese, added more ham and cooked for about 15 extra minutes till the cheese started to brown a bit. My husband went back for thirds. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Really good. Used low-fat shredded cheddar. My husband and kids weren't expecting much, but were pleasantly surprised. This would probably would be good with hamburger and/or ground pork, too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermon, Maine, USA
Living In: Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
My husband and I loved this!! I added 1/3 teaspoon of pepper to the sauce and used Velvetta as the cheese. I also put french fried onions on the top as one reviewer suggested. We ate almost the whole thing in one sitting. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
We loved this recipe. It was yummie!! The only cabbage we had ever had was our family traditional fried cabbage which we love and our traditional family stewed cabbage witch is yummie. This was a great change of pace and awesome addition because we love cabbage. I did not put ham in it cuz we didn't have any. I am excited to try it again with ham it. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Awesome casserole. I didn't change a thing and it's low in carbs too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Mini Ham and Cheese Roll Dinner

Hot little sandwiches and cool pasta salad pair perfectly.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States