Scalloped Cabbage with Ham and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I'm giving this 4 stars because my family LOVED it--I thought it was pretty bland but it was a huge hit, thus, the four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marla Lackey-Rudin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I followed the recipe for the cabbage, onion and ham but had leftover very cheesy Au gratin potatoes so I used them instead of the plain cheese sauce on top and it turned out real good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Minus all the chopping, very easy to make and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kennedy Family
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This was so awesome! I let the cabbage/onion cook down in 1 cup of chicken broth, added the ham (to warm it up) then strained the whole thing prior to putting in the buttered dish. That worked well as there was a tiny bit more liquid formed in the bottom of dish during the baking period. Had i not drained the original liquid it would have turned out too watery. The topping was awesome! i didn't have velveta so i mixed the butter/flour mixture, added the milk then about 1 cup of shredded mild cheddar and it melted perfectly... layered over the top and baked w/ the bread crumbs and dotted w/ butter as directed. Was a TOTAL HIT!!! We will eat this often!!! ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kennedy Family

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This was very tasty. I used shredded cheddar instead of processed cheese, and added some dijon mustard to the cheese sauce for a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This was very tasty. I used grated cheddar instead of American cheese and added some Worcestershire sauce to the cheese sauce. I also added some cooked whole wheat wide egg noodles to the ham and cabbage mixture. DH and I liked it a lot. It's a great way to use up leftover ham. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Loved this! Very comforting on a cool night. I used two small bags of cold slaw, used a little more butter/flour/milk... probably about 3 tbsp each of butter and flour and about a cup and a half of milk. I added a little nutmeg, salt, garlic powder and onion powder to my sauce. I used about 6 or 7 slices of american cheese because that is what I had on hand. Put the ham on top of the cabbage mix and topped with breadcrumbs I mixed with a little melted butter. It was very very good. Will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This is definitely a clean out the fridge dinner. I have made this a few times now but noticed I have never reviewed it. This last time I added some leftover grilled corn, hot sauce, and used crushed up cheddar Goldfish crackers as the topping for a change. I prefer to mix the sauce into the casserole instead of pouring it on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Awesome casserole. I didn't change a thing and it's low in carbs too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
We loved this recipe. It was yummie!! The only cabbage we had ever had was our family traditional fried cabbage which we love and our traditional family stewed cabbage witch is yummie. This was a great change of pace and awesome addition because we love cabbage. I did not put ham in it cuz we didn't have any. I am excited to try it again with ham it. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Mini Ham and Cheese Roll Dinner

Hot little sandwiches and cool pasta salad pair perfectly.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States