Scalloped Cabbage with Ham and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This was a nice and filling dinner. I was looking for a way to use up some cabbage when I found this recipe. The one change I made was to use white queso cheese in place of the processed American cheese. Served this with lettuce salad and garlic bread. Leftovers were good for the lunch the next day also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Wow! I can't say enough about this dish. I have made it several times. The first time with ham, the second with leftover chopped chicken (We like it better with chicken). I have even left out the meat and made it as a side dish. I cooked the cabbage with chicken broth when using chicken. This is a perfect side dish or casserole. You can do so much with this dish. It is more than a single recipe, it is the beginnings of so many. Sometimes with Tarragon, but Penzey's dried red pepper and minced garlic are a must in my house. Add Penzey's Fox Point seasoning and it is the bomb! (penzeys.com) I am not affiliated with them, I just love their seasonings! Thanks, Jeanie, for an awesome addition to my recipe collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I would give it a 3 1/2 stars. It was good but my husband said it isn't something he would go back to seconds for. However it is a good budget meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I was surprised how good this tasted. I followed the recipe pretty close. I did drain the cabbage/ham mixture before putting it in the pan. I used Velvetta as the cheese. I had leftover ham in the freezer and cabbage that needed to be used. Next time, I will probably steam in chicken broth, instead of water and add some garlic and maybe some other spices/herbs to the cheese mixture. I just felt it was missing a little something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annekj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I'm giving this 4 stars because my family LOVED it--I thought it was pretty bland but it was a huge hit, thus, the four stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marla Lackey-Rudin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I followed the recipe for the cabbage, onion and ham but had leftover very cheesy Au gratin potatoes so I used them instead of the plain cheese sauce on top and it turned out real good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Minus all the chopping, very easy to make and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kennedy Family
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This was so awesome! I let the cabbage/onion cook down in 1 cup of chicken broth, added the ham (to warm it up) then strained the whole thing prior to putting in the buttered dish. That worked well as there was a tiny bit more liquid formed in the bottom of dish during the baking period. Had i not drained the original liquid it would have turned out too watery. The topping was awesome! i didn't have velveta so i mixed the butter/flour mixture, added the milk then about 1 cup of shredded mild cheddar and it melted perfectly... layered over the top and baked w/ the bread crumbs and dotted w/ butter as directed. Was a TOTAL HIT!!! We will eat this often!!! ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kennedy Family

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This was very tasty. I used shredded cheddar instead of processed cheese, and added some dijon mustard to the cheese sauce for a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This was very tasty. I used grated cheddar instead of American cheese and added some Worcestershire sauce to the cheese sauce. I also added some cooked whole wheat wide egg noodles to the ham and cabbage mixture. DH and I liked it a lot. It's a great way to use up leftover ham. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Mini Ham and Cheese Roll Dinner

Hot little sandwiches and cool pasta salad pair perfectly.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States