Scalloped Cabbage with Fennel and Cranberries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I tried this for the first time with company coming. I ran out, as it was the first dish to disappear
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Very exotic flavors...I've prepared it with chopped ham and with no meat at all and it was excellent. I could not easily find fennel bulb so I just added another teaspoon of fennel seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
This is a GREAT RECIPE!! I used a smoked Turkey leg - it was hard to pull the meat off, but I'm glad I did! This was a terrific recipe and the first time I cooked with fennel - yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
LOVE this! We served it with biscuits but I think it would be good with noodles, maybe with some kind of sour cream sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reubens, Idaho, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Instead of dried cranberries, I used half a bag of frozen cranberries that I had leftover from last Thanksgiving. It was terrific! I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
ABSOLUTELY YUMMY AND TOTALLY VEGANIZABLE!! so I used a half lb of super firm tofu instead of turkey. Everything else is exact... Served with some soy sauce. WOW. I might try this over some thin savory crepes... yep... delicious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
So good! Didn't have a bulb of fennel, so I used 5 stalks of celery. Also used fresh cranberries and didn't have the cranberry juice, so I used extra broth (homemade turkey broth). The fennel seeds went great with this. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This is a good recipe, and easy to veggietize. I added firm tofu instead of the turkey, and a bit more broth (because I had more and did not want to waste it), and it was wonderful. The cranberries are really a key part if it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This is so delicious. I didn't have fennel bulb so used double fennel seeds. Substituted smoked turkey sausage for the smoked chicken. Used cranapple juice but worked find. Great for one dish meal if you plan on two servings per person. Probably be even better when I add the fennel bulb but it's superb as it is. We will be having this dish from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Never seen a fennel before I got one in my veggie co-op basket and frankly didn't have high hopes. This was awesome though! I didn't have fennel seeds or cranberries of any sort so I added most of a can of cranberry sauce and a tablespoon of horseradish mustard and whipped it up with the broth. Added a couple sliced carrots. Used leftover rotisserie chicken. Cooked covered the full hour and stirred in the middle. Served over brown rice. Yum! My 2 year old even ate 3 bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States