Scallop-Topped Portabello Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Delicious recipe! This is a keeper, and it is good enough for a special occasion. I don’t understand the very low ratings from those who referred to Heinz bottled chili sauce or from those who said it was poorly put together. I found it incredible, and I saw no reference to anything from Heinz. As others have done, I used Srirachi chili sauce. For those who do not appreciate a spicy flavor, be sure to use it sparingly, because even a little makes it surprisingly spicy. I liked it, but I have lived in Sichuan and am used to much heavier spices. I have used Kewpie mayo while in Japan, but I found that U.S. mayo with a bit of (liquid) sushi seasoning sauce (which is basically rice wine, with sweetener and a few spices) was a fine substitute. My Japanese wife and I both gave this recipe five stars. As an aside, my only serious detour from the recipe as written was to add freshly grated Romano cheese, which complemented the other flavors nicely. I recommend not cooking the scallops as long as recommended. Scallops, like shrimp, are perfect when barely done. Any more cooking toughens them, changing the texture significantly. Sautéing them until they are browned and then cooking them even longer under the broiler is far too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Are you kidding me. Heinz Chili Sauce. What an abomination. I followed the recipe and it would have been good but at this point I questioned your judgement but followed the recipe anyway. Awful - the tomato chili sauce ruined this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RickTexan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleburne, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This was rather good but I don't know that I would like it "alone"...which doesn't really matter because I will always serve it the way I did this time with Onion Pasta from this site. The two combined were delicious. I found it much easier to soften the mushroom caps in a 400 degree oven for about 10 minutes. It is the way I have always done it and when I started them on the stove I just thought to myself, why am I doing this. It really is a personal preference. I also added more chili sauce, about a teaspoon and it still wasn't too spicy. Before going in the oven I threw on some parmesan for good measure...it never hurts anything in my world. Absolutely beautiful presentation!! Thank you for the recipe. It was worth the trip to the asian market for the Kewpie Mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Made this tonight and it was great. Definitely do not need 2 pounds of scallops with 4 mushroom caps. Couldn't find the Japanese mayo, so I found a simple recipe and made my own. Also added cayenne pepper to scallops and some shredded parmesan cheese on top. Definitely can adjust the recipe to suit individual tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This is DELICIOUS. I couldn't find Japanese mayo so I made a spicy sriracha/mayo mix to use instead as was suggested by another review. Worked fine. Small mushroom caps are perfect for appetizers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ms. Ho
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Followed the recipe as is. Amazing! And presentation was excellent too! Reminded me of Hotate-Hokkaiyaki from Japanese restaurants. Think next time I will add fish roe to give it the crunchiness of Hotate-Hokkaiyaki. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Ho

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Wow. Just Wow. Like someone said, I didn't have access to Japanesse Mayo. So I used hellmans mayo, chili sauce, and Tuong ot sriracha. Teaspoon of chili sauce and the sriracha to your liking. I ended up using two teaspoons. Made the recepie as it says. Served it over parmesan linquini with spinach. I actually ended up mixing the linquini with the remainder of the sauce that I made and my oh my that was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This is a sloppy and poorly put together dish. Ingredients have potential but the flavor is overwhelmed by the mayo plus it's missing something..... Im not going to eat this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
This meal was AWESOME! It is also very filling!! I couldn't find japanese mayo anywhere so I got regular mayo and added rice vinigar and sugar and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah3021

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hueytown, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
THese were amazing. I am not great with overly rich foods and the sauce was def rich but the flavo was very good, will make again for my hubby for special occasions!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noelle Hastings Carraway

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Lettuce Wraps with Shiitake Mushrooms

Watch how to make this versatile recipe.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Watch how to make grilled, marinated portobello mushrooms.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States