Scallop Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
This was an excellent way to use scallops. However, small bay scallops should never be boiled rapidly, especially for more than a minute or two. I sauteed the onion and garlic for a few minutes, added the scallops and sauteed them for about 4 minutes then removed them from the pan. I then added all the other ingredients and let it cook down to the amount I needed and desire consistency. Returned the scallops and served over angel hair pasta. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
This is by far the best recipe I have ever gotten off this site and believe-you-me I have gotten alot! I did make some changes to the recipe per the reviews of other users. I used a half butter, half olive oil combo instead of margarine...I used scallions instead of the onions....I added shrimp, mushrooms and about 1 1/2 cups of shredded swiss cheese....I used parmesan cheese instead of romano and I only added a little parm during the cooking and added most of it right before serving while I was adding the swiss cheese. This came out delish, it was like being at the olive garden. The only thing that I will change next time is to double the sauce because with the added shrimp and mushrooms the sauce didn't seem too plentiful. I got rave reviews from my bro-in-law and sis and their only complaint was that they wanted more sauce. I served this with garlic bread and the remainder of white wine. Great! One more tip...add the cheese when it is warm, not boiling. So basically take it off the stove and let it set for maybe 5 minutes before adding the cheese. I figured this out the hard way. If you add the cheese when it's too hot it will clump up and stick to everything. The sauce doesn't get creamy that way. Only if you add it when it's warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
This was wonderful!!! I did make three changes and I think they really made this dish a winner; I used butter instead of margarine, doubled the garlic and substituted a can of white clam sauce for the chicken broth. Everything else was fine and my wife and I loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakemoor, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2002
Since I first made this in 2002, I've made it many times since. I now add twice as much garlic, use half chicken both, half white wine, a half teaspoon each of oregano and basil, and a good sprinkling of red pepper flakes to this recipe. It was good back then, but it kicks butt now. Thicken with cornstarch just enough for the sauce to stick to the noodle. This is one of my favorite recipes. Serve with salad and garlic bread. What a feast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
This recipe was so much fun to play with! If you really like to cook (like I do), it's a kick! I doubled butter & wine, used a bunch of green onions instead, used Parmesano Reggiano, used Emeril's Essence instead of salt & pepper, added 12 oz. sliced baby portabellos, and made it with angel hair; couldn't afford the scallops right now, so I used a can of baby shrimp & a can of crabmeat...YUM!!! My 7 month old son was begging, so we gave him tiny bites of the pasta...he LOVED it, and so did we!When I put the plate in front of my husband, he said, "Oh, wow!" Lots of "m-m-m-m-m's" in the room...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
I added shrimp and used angel hair pasta. Parsley was not mentioned in the ingredients section, but the recipe says to add parsley in Step #4. It needs it for a touch of color. You'll probably want to thicken the sauce as the narrative stated. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
This was such a delicious recipe. I followed some of the previous suggestions and added green onions, shrimp and mushrooms. The sauce turned out perfect, but it may be because I used ricotta and parmesan cheese instead of romano. I also adjusted the sauce to be thicker by adding about 2 tbsp of cornstarch dissolved in cold milk before adding the cheese. This really is a great, restaurant quality pasta. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2003
THIS IS INCREDIBLE! We have made it SEVERAL times and I LOVE IT - I am NOT a seafood person either. Made some small changes: Omitted margarine (don't believe in plastic butter - trans fats BAD!) instead used only about a tablespoon of olive oil. Doubled the garlic. Cut the salt to 1/4 tsp. Used Egg noodles cuz that was all I had. DEEEEEELICIOUS!!!! MMMMMMMMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
Not bad. Need to reduce the wine as well as reduce the chicken stock. Next time I will use seafood stock, it just tasted to "chickeney" to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
My husband has bad heartburn when he eats reds sauces. been trying to find other pasta recipes w/o the sauce. This is great!!!! I didn't use the chicken broth, just a chicken cube (no extra water added). One extra garlic. My husband and 3 year old couldn't get enough. didn't have that fishy taste that I was afraid of. Great for those you can't handle the red sacues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Chicken Scampi

See how to make a quick and creamy chicken pasta that's a twist on shrimp scampi.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States