Scallop Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by aimeelynn
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This was yummy. We used butter and olive oil and added artichoke hearts and mushrooms. Doubled the wine and then let it cook off for a few minutes. We threw the scallops in for the last six minutes and then added some green onions right at the end. Served with whole wheat thin spaghetti and steamed broccoli, all in one big bowl. So good, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Photo by Milliechel
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This was SO DELICIOUS! I halved all but the garlic and scallops and we ate it on the side of green beans without the pasta. There was a bit of juice left over that you'd better believe I'll be soaking up in some crusty bread for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Delicious! Added fresh mushrooms; thickened the sauce with a little flour mixed with a little milk; used Parmesan and Swiss cheeses, and olive oil and butter rather than margarine. Also used angel hair pasta. I used extra butter and olive oil to be sure to have enough sauce, and I skipped chicken broth and added 2 chicken boullion cubes to the butter/oil/wine mix. This is a restaurant-quality dinner! And I'm talking a decent restaurant. I think it's better than anything I've ever eaten at Olive Garden. My 9 yr old son told me to make it every day he loved it so much! Be sure to not overcook the scallops. As someone else said, you don't need to boil them but rather sautee them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This was delicious! I did 1 full cup of white wine, and 1/2 cup of chicken broth, added red pepper and oregano and did use the cornstarch to thicken. I also followed the advice of sauteeing the scallops with the onion and setting them aside, adding them again only before serving. I tossed this with angel hair pasta. It was fantastic!!!! Five stars all the way, my favorite way to have scallops yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
this was very good...I used parmesean instead of romano...also added chopped fresh tomatoes for taste and color....dont add the seafood until the very end...otherwise it gets too tough...I used sea scallops cut in half and shrimp.....very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANASOOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
very good!!! i did not use cheese to save calorie intake, i added capers and a little squeeze of lemon!! i also used bow tie pasta instead and added zucchini while mixing in the onions and garlic....very yummy and easy. will be make several times again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nerdis4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This was very good and pretty simple, and my whole family (including very picky 10-year old) liked it. I used another reviewers recommendation to sautee the onion/garlic then add the scallops and sautee them for several minutes, remove the scallops then add the rest of the ingredients to boil the sauce, adding the scallops back in at the end. I think this method helped keep the scallops tender. Otherwise, I followed the recipe and ingredients exactly. This was a good basic recipe, and I'll probably doctor it up a little more next time, possibly artichokes and shallots, and maybe a little crushed red pepper . Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ciccone Kershaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Best Scallop Scampi I've ever had. I used 1/2 the butter though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther A.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This recipe was not to my liking. I followed the recipe exactly and I did not like the results. I am still mad I went and bought the groceries to even make this. The sauce was watery but the cheese clumped up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeburg, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I have tried other scampi recipes on this website, but this one is hands down the best. I didn't have fresh parsley, so I used 2 tsp. of dried. I omitted the onion, simply because I thought a large onion would overpower the garlic flavor, which I like better in scampi. I doubled the sauce like other reviewers suggested, because as is, it is not even enough for 4. I used langostinos (tiny lobster tails) instead of scallops too, and served this with a lemon wedge, extra romano cheese and semolina italian bread to mop up the wonderful sauce. Everyone raved about it and went back for seconds. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Chicken Scampi

See how to make a quick and creamy chicken pasta that's a twist on shrimp scampi.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States