Scallop Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Delicious! Added fresh mushrooms; thickened the sauce with a little flour mixed with a little milk; used Parmesan and Swiss cheeses, and olive oil and butter rather than margarine. Also used angel hair pasta. I used extra butter and olive oil to be sure to have enough sauce, and I skipped chicken broth and added 2 chicken boullion cubes to the butter/oil/wine mix. This is a restaurant-quality dinner! And I'm talking a decent restaurant. I think it's better than anything I've ever eaten at Olive Garden. My 9 yr old son told me to make it every day he loved it so much! Be sure to not overcook the scallops. As someone else said, you don't need to boil them but rather sautee them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This was delicious! I did 1 full cup of white wine, and 1/2 cup of chicken broth, added red pepper and oregano and did use the cornstarch to thicken. I also followed the advice of sauteeing the scallops with the onion and setting them aside, adding them again only before serving. I tossed this with angel hair pasta. It was fantastic!!!! Five stars all the way, my favorite way to have scallops yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
this was very good...I used parmesean instead of romano...also added chopped fresh tomatoes for taste and color....dont add the seafood until the very end...otherwise it gets too tough...I used sea scallops cut in half and shrimp.....very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
very good!!! i did not use cheese to save calorie intake, i added capers and a little squeeze of lemon!! i also used bow tie pasta instead and added zucchini while mixing in the onions and garlic....very yummy and easy. will be make several times again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nerdis4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This was very good and pretty simple, and my whole family (including very picky 10-year old) liked it. I used another reviewers recommendation to sautee the onion/garlic then add the scallops and sautee them for several minutes, remove the scallops then add the rest of the ingredients to boil the sauce, adding the scallops back in at the end. I think this method helped keep the scallops tender. Otherwise, I followed the recipe and ingredients exactly. This was a good basic recipe, and I'll probably doctor it up a little more next time, possibly artichokes and shallots, and maybe a little crushed red pepper . Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Best Scallop Scampi I've ever had. I used 1/2 the butter though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther A.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This recipe was not to my liking. I followed the recipe exactly and I did not like the results. I am still mad I went and bought the groceries to even make this. The sauce was watery but the cheese clumped up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeburg, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I have tried other scampi recipes on this website, but this one is hands down the best. I didn't have fresh parsley, so I used 2 tsp. of dried. I omitted the onion, simply because I thought a large onion would overpower the garlic flavor, which I like better in scampi. I doubled the sauce like other reviewers suggested, because as is, it is not even enough for 4. I used langostinos (tiny lobster tails) instead of scallops too, and served this with a lemon wedge, extra romano cheese and semolina italian bread to mop up the wonderful sauce. Everyone raved about it and went back for seconds. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Excellent pasta! I cut back the butter to about 3 T and that was fine. Also added the scallops at the very end, after a previous reviewers suggestion not to boil the scallops. The scallops turned out tender and delicious! We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Loved this recipe. I added some sauteed broccoli to the mixture near the end and it was delicious! Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clinton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Restaurant-Style Chicken Scampi

See how to make a quick and creamy chicken pasta that's a twist on shrimp scampi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States