Scallop Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I think that this recipe had a lot of flavor. I sauteed the scallops rather than boiling them. I used the food processor to very finely mince the garlic and onion so that it would totally infuse... But this recipe did not get a 5 because the cheese clumped as other reviewers have noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
Really enjoyed this dish...but modified it...used primo dry white wine and added mushrooms-omitted onions. Also used butter instead of margarine and cooked scallops right after getting garlic and mushrooms going and then removed the scallops. Added the white wine and a touch of fresh lemon juice and a teeny tiny bit of red pepper a quarter of a bay leaf and I let it reduce as my pasta cooked. After that reduced nicely, I added the scallops back in and finished it with another tsp of butter. Added parm to it after it was dished out and it was great. My two year old wanted 2nd's and my husband had 3rd's! Piggies! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This recipe was great. We've tried it a couple of times with excellent results. I recommend cooking the scallops in a pan just big enough to accomdate all of your scallops. This helps to keep the sauce from reducing too quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
This was good, but there was too much liquid, and, as others have posted, the cheese does not blend into the sauce, leaving melty blobs at the bottom of the pan. Do yourself a favor and reduce the amount of broth & add cheese to individual servings as desired. Served with "Herbed Mushrooms with White Wine" (from site), and those mushrooms added so much depth and flavor to the dish that I couldn't imagine ever serving without the mushrooms (I used portobello mushrooms).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I think for this recipe to work best you must start with a roux, use less wine, green onion instead of 1 large minced, add some blackening seasoning then only add FRESH Romano once it is on the serving dish. Sauce had no 'body' and overall was a bit bland. Plus, boiling the scallops will over cook them making them dry inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Thought this recipe would be an excellent choice for New Year's Eve. Sauce was too runny and had no flavor. Scallops were dry. To salvage the leftovers I added 2 tablespoons of dijon mustard and more garlic. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Very yummy, I will def. make this again! As others suggested I too thickened the sauce with cornstarch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Babylon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
This was okay. My family liked it a lot but I thought it needed something. I don't think I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy of Five

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
This was such a delicious recipe. I followed some of the previous suggestions and added green onions, shrimp and mushrooms. The sauce turned out perfect, but it may be because I used ricotta and parmesan cheese instead of romano. I also adjusted the sauce to be thicker by adding about 2 tbsp of cornstarch dissolved in cold milk before adding the cheese. This really is a great, restaurant quality pasta. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
Well, I had the same problem with the cheese turning into a globby mess. It really didn't have much flavor, I increased the garlic and I used olive oil and butter too. I will try again and change it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Scallop Gratin

Scallops baked in a creamy sauce.

Restaurant-Style Chicken Scampi

See how to make a quick and creamy chicken pasta that's a twist on shrimp scampi.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States