Scallop Scampi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
This was good, but there was too much liquid, and, as others have posted, the cheese does not blend into the sauce, leaving melty blobs at the bottom of the pan. Do yourself a favor and reduce the amount of broth & add cheese to individual servings as desired. Served with "Herbed Mushrooms with White Wine" (from site), and those mushrooms added so much depth and flavor to the dish that I couldn't imagine ever serving without the mushrooms (I used portobello mushrooms).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I think for this recipe to work best you must start with a roux, use less wine, green onion instead of 1 large minced, add some blackening seasoning then only add FRESH Romano once it is on the serving dish. Sauce had no 'body' and overall was a bit bland. Plus, boiling the scallops will over cook them making them dry inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Thought this recipe would be an excellent choice for New Year's Eve. Sauce was too runny and had no flavor. Scallops were dry. To salvage the leftovers I added 2 tablespoons of dijon mustard and more garlic. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
Very yummy, I will def. make this again! As others suggested I too thickened the sauce with cornstarch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Babylon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
This was okay. My family liked it a lot but I thought it needed something. I don't think I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy of Five

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
This was such a delicious recipe. I followed some of the previous suggestions and added green onions, shrimp and mushrooms. The sauce turned out perfect, but it may be because I used ricotta and parmesan cheese instead of romano. I also adjusted the sauce to be thicker by adding about 2 tbsp of cornstarch dissolved in cold milk before adding the cheese. This really is a great, restaurant quality pasta. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
Well, I had the same problem with the cheese turning into a globby mess. It really didn't have much flavor, I increased the garlic and I used olive oil and butter too. I will try again and change it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
It was okay, but not that impressive. It seems that the cheese, despite the problems of being lumpy, is really important. Without it, the sauce was really liquidy and lacked some flavor. Next time (if there is one) I would reduce the liquid by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Clara, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
I had alot of trouble with the sauce too. I tried making it several times and changing how I did things and I still can't quite get it. The cheese gets clumpy and gross and the sauce is very runny even with cornstarch. Although I must say that it must be a good recipe if I won't stop trying to get it right and we still enjoyed the taste, very yummy. One thing I do is pan sear the scallops and cook the sauce seperately. I just like my scallops with that caramelization from searing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
The only reason I didn't rate this 5 stars is the cheese. Like a few other reviewers, no matter what I did it turned lumpy and gluey when I added it while cooking. I tried Romano and parmesan. So now I just add the cheese before serving. Great taste, I've made with scallops and shrimp and everyone really likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Silver Lake, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Restaurant-Style Chicken Scampi

See how to make a quick and creamy chicken pasta that's a twist on shrimp scampi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States