Scallop and Prosciutto Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
My mom and dad loved this, liked the sweet vs. salty, but i didn't like it at all. I didn't use any wine, but followed everthing else. I found for me that the prosciutto overpowered the taste of the scallops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARCINATOR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
excellent and simple -I combined it with your three different cabbage salad and a dipping sauce but the scallops stand on there own even good cold -thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thessalon, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Godfrey, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Very nice change from the bacon version I normally make. Hubby loved the sweet and salty combo. Nice company appy. Thanks a heap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I normally make this with bacon, but had some prosciutto and thought "what the heck". It turned out really well. The prosciutto didn't crisp up as much as our bacon does, but was still good. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
Only ok. Followed recipe to the T. Maybe my prosciutto was too thick?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
We thought this needed a little garlic so when I make again I will infuse the olive oil with garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Very good. Note: Proscuitto is very strong and must be paper thin to avoid overpowering a delicate flavor like scallops. My Italian MIL's idea of paper-thin was "you should be able to read the paper through it!" I, too, added garlic to the olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
This same recipe was on TV just last week..I use the olive oil and butter mixture called "fortified"(by Emeril)..and if you want to use Bacon/try a rapid boil on the Bacon for 10-minutes--then fry(saute')in butter/then wrap and finish the scallops..Scallops-Prosciutto..fantasic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doePastaB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
These were fantastic, but I modified the recipe a bit. I used the frozen scallops from Costco. I defrosted them, and then let them drain on paper towels. Based on other reviews, I made sure that I used extremely thin prosciutto. I combined olive oil and 2 large cloves of crushed garlic with some butter. Once the garlic browned, I cooked the scallops for a total of 5 minutes. I did not use the wine. They turned out fabulous! A simple recipe with a great "wow" factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I used bay scallops and took another reviewer's tip of adding a dab of cream cheese between the scallop and prosciutto. I couldn't find the white wine, but added parmesan cheese from a can during the last couple minutes. They turned out wonderfully and were gone in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fig Prosciutto Crostini

Easy, elegant appetizers are topped with fig jam, prosciutto, and Cheddar.

All about Prosciutto

Learn all about this salty cured ham.

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States