Sawmill Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
I grew up on this, but had forgotten about it until I saw your recipe Lloyd. I cooked the onion a little before adding the flour. The whole key to making this is to be patient with the flour and let it brown. If the flour isn't brown, it won't be sawmill gravy! When the gravy was thickened to my liking, I just added the crumbled sausage to it, spooned it over homemade biscuits, and topped each biscuit with a fried egg. Thanks for the memories! My Dad was a cook in the army and he made this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
Overall good recipe. I would use approx 1/4 cup flour and 1 cup of milk and 1/2 lb sausage. Making the was as it appears in the recipe it is very thick and too much sausage. I will make again with changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
This is close to what my grandmother made and it did bring back memories of the good ole days. It really isn't that much different than other gravy recipes. The biggest difference is the browning of the flour. For breakfast Grandma would make this six days a week and on Sunday she would make white gravy. Thanks for the memories Lloyd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
Hmmmmm, well. I think that gravy is a very personal dish. And, whether someone likes it or not probably is tied to the region in which they live. For me, this recipe needs improvement. I cut the sausage into slices and set aside, reserving two patties to be crumbled and placed back in the gravy at the end. With the sausage being salty already, I think that the salt in the recipe is too much. I had to use more black pepper for our tastes than listed here and we don't care for the green onions. You have to play with flour and milk amounts so I think that that is understood by most gravy cooks. Also, speed of your wrist (stirring) and heat play a factor. By the way, you can sub ham for the sausage and call it red-eye gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Easy, excellent, a classic. I would suggest, however, eliminating the salt from the recipe. The sausage (or the bisquits the gravy will eventally top) typically have plenty of sodium already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
Biscuits and sausage gravy are favorites, but when I tried this great sounding recipe it was very salty. I noticed there is over 50% of your day's sodium in just a single serving of this recipe. Seasoned sausage has plenty of salt in it, I would suggest adding a couple pinches of cracked pepper, and a pinch of either thyme or sage. I also let the flour gently brown a bit more than called for here, and used about twice as much gravy to sausage-it was wonderful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KCFOXY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
gravy tasted ok but definitely wasn't 4 servings, barely two. Had to add double the milk to get the right consistency. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tamara Revis
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
i just made this gravy along with some biscuits and it was absolutly wonderful. The only adjustment i made was to cut the amount of sausage in half. 5 stars for this very very good sausage gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gray Court, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
What you have is a Sausage Gravy, not a Sawmill Gravy. What makes it Sawmill Gravy is CORNMILL. you add cornmill to give it a gritty taste like saw dust. Thats why itd called Sawmill Gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
You can't go wrong with pork fat. Pay attention, and a secret my Grandma taught me. When it bubbles as big as hog eyes, its done (not to thick,not to thin)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Rice
Living In: Ottumwa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Country Gravy

See how to make a savory, sensational, milk-based sausage and bacon gravy.

Ham and Shrimp Gravy

See how to make shrimp and grits.

Ham & Red Eye Gravy

See a delicious way to use up leftover smoked ham and coffee!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States